Login | Register

Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby Overmind » Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:13 pm

Hi, I have installed CT 0.99.x and CT 1.0RC1, but with both versions i have trouble.
With both versions the temperature was displayed wrong.

CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1 show 27 degree Celsius, but EasyTune 6 from Gigabyte show 44 degree Celsius.

I have the following hardware:

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 (Chipset: AMD 990FX and AMD SB950)
AMD Phenom X6 T1100
2x 2GB Corsair DDRIII 1600 CL9
Overmind
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby The Coolest » Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:43 pm

Please see section #7 of the FAQ
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby Overmind » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:00 pm

Ok, but why can EasyTune 6 display the right temperature?
Have only the manufacturers this information about the offset?
Overmind
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby The Coolest » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:04 pm

Because easytune doesn't use the same sensor that Core Temp is using.
It uses the onboard temperature sensor and Core Temp uses the processor's built in sensor, which has an offset of around 15C
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby Overmind » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:27 pm

ok, thanks for your answer.

Why do you not take the same sensor as EasyTune 6?
Or why do you not take the offset in CT?
Overmind
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: Wrong Temperature with CT 0.99.x and 1.0RC1

Postby The Coolest » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:45 pm

Because Core Temp doesn't use motherboard sensors, it only uses sensors built into the processor.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests