Login | Register

Intel Q9300 temps very high

A place to discuss anything related to Core Temp and temperature reading in general
  • Author
    Message

Intel Q9300 temps very high

Postby CoreTemp-User016 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:00 am

I have a SLAWE Intel Q9300 that CoreTemp 0.99.1 and 0.99.0 both read temps at 59/60C on all cores. I have tried this in two separate systems with the same results. Bios reports CPU temp of 37C. Q6600 reads fine in both systems matching within a degree of bios readings.
CoreTemp-User016
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:15 am

Do temps increase when you load the CPU or do they stay the same?
Some 45nm chips have a broken DTS and it sometimes displays some wrong temperature.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User016 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:27 pm

In CoreTemp they stay the same, will check with Asus monitoring tool tonight.
CoreTemp-User016
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:44 pm

Alright, this probably means you have "sticky sensors" syndrome. Let me know what the motherboard monitoring tool.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User016 » Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:46 am

Okay tested with Sandra CPU burn in and the temps did increase on both Asus probe and CoreTemp. I found the links regarding adjusting the Tj offset and set it down -10 which brought the temps down but they are still reading about 10C higher than Asus probe. Adjusted the Tj offset down to -20 and the temps look much closer to what I expect with a water cooled rig. Still a little higher than the Q6600's temps in this system. Idle temps are still about 3 - 5C higher than my Q6600.
CoreTemp-User016
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby CoreTemp-User018 » Sat Aug 16, 2008 3:49 am

I think I had simillar problems.

Solution:
Open CoreTemp>Options>Settings>uncheck "Show Delta to Tjunction max temp"

Once I did this CoreTemp values matched Rightmark CPU Clock Utility values (temps went form 63°C to 36° C at idle).
CoreTemp-User018
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby CoreTemp-User016 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:24 pm

I wish it was just that but no, already checked to make sure it was not something so simple. This is an actual bug.
CoreTemp-User016
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:30 pm

What bug?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User016 » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:30 pm

The fact that the Tj is still incorrectly identified for this CPU and even when set to -10 it is still reading temps too high. I've had to set the Tj to -20 to get temps close.
CoreTemp-User016
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:23 pm

Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User028 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:22 pm

Hi!

I've got SuperMicro 2 x Xeon L5420 low-power (50w cpus) server and used your program to read core temps: it was showing way too high values when idle - 60-70C range, when fully loaded temp would go up to 72C. The case tempreture is reported to be 31-35C, physically there is no sense it is hot around CPUs.

When I read this thread and used option "
Open CoreTemp>Options>Settings>uncheck "Show Delta to Tjunction max temp" " then core temps dropped to values that I'd expect. Problem is - what exactly this option changes, does it create a false reality or actually fixes it?

I've got IPMI card in the server and it also reports 65-72C values - however some PECI Agent (very little info on this word - it seems to mean temp of CPU though) figures are low. :cry:

Apparently it is a kind of known problem to SuperMicro - I wonder whether maybe it is a batch of CPUs from Intel that report not very correct readings, surely something like this could not have passed QA?
CoreTemp-User028
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby CoreTemp-User018 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:20 pm

I found after I unchecked the "Show Delta to Tjunction max temp" my CoreTemp temps read exactly as the temps displayed by RightMark CPU Clock Utility (another temp. monitor app.). The Coolest explained in another thread...as far as the Delta to Tjunction max temp, the higher the better. I believe your currents readings from CoreTemp are probably pretty accurate.
CoreTemp-User018
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:13 am

That option in the settings simply shows the actual reading from the DTS register. As tootallll said, the higher that figure is the lower your actual CPU temperature is.

alexc:
One possible reason for the temperature to seem so high is that the low-power CPUs may have a relatively low TjMax value (for example it may be 85C while Core Temp "thinks" it's 100C).
We only got TjMax values for the desktop Intel products. No word regarding the Xeon series.
I've emailed Benson (the guy at Intel who made the presentation about the DTS on IDF last week) about this and still have not received an answer...
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User075 » Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:08 pm

hi every body i'm new
thx for all thing that you give us
i have some probleme for my intel core 2 quad q9300 it's to hot
i'upload some foto
Image
and the processore with pate termical
Image
and the test with some log
Image
and in full laod
Image
the new one on full load
Image
CoreTemp-User075
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:09 am

65-70C with full load and the stock cooler not that bad.
It's not meant to give you very good cooling performance. Just good enough to keep the CPU safe at stock speed.
as long as your temp is 20-25C under TjMax (100C for your CPU) you're safe.
I do agree that it is on the warm side. You may consider lapping the stock cooler or just buying an aftermarket cooler which will give you a much better performance.

Core Temp 0.99.3 has the updated information about the TjMax for 45nm CPUs, and TjMax is the reference point by which the temperature is calculated (that's why it's different in all the programs that you've shown in the screenshots).
All the new versions should have the updated values so you may want to make sure you have the latest version of programs like HWMonitor and Everest.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2395
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User075 » Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:23 pm

thx man
yes i have all last version
but i don't know way they give me a deferente value

i fix the probleme with changin de dessepatore systeme with other more power full
CoreTemp-User075
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

please help

Postby CoreTemp-User122 » Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:39 pm

I have a Q9300 and according to everest ultimate my CPU runs at 23' C
core #1 - 70'C
core #2 - 63'C
core #3 - 62'C
core #4 - 62'C

I just bought this computer a few months ago. Its a gateway FX-4710. q9300 at 2.5, 6 gigs of ram. and an nvidia 9800GT factory overclocked on Vista 64bit. ive used a program "speedfan" to increase my fan speeds but according to everest there has been no significant temp changes even if i run it at 100%. my computer has been randomly shutting off and restarting.. sometimes i have to wait ten minutes or unplug the power from the mobo in order for it to boot again. would this be my CPU overheating or do you think my PSU is failing. windows has not told me yet that my system has overheated so what do you all think. any help would be greatly appreciated.
CoreTemp-User122
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Return to Core Temp - Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron