Login | Register
  • Author
    Message

AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero?

Postby SneakyB » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:20 pm

Hi guys... Long time listener, first time caller.

I have a simple question maybe someone could answer.

I am running a decent gaming system, even though it is getting a bit aged, and I built a water cooling system from scratch to keep the FX cool. It would often soar to over 70C with the stock fan and radiator on it!

Now, my design is keeping it tons cooler, however, I can't seem to find any monitor that will read sub-zero temps...

Image

Here is a screenshot with Core Temp reading in Celsius and Speedfan reading in Fahrenheit....

Image

Core Temp just shows a Question mark after the 0C reading... and Speedfan just stays at 32F (0C for those who didn't know...).

Is there a way to set up Core Temp to read sub-zero temperatures? Or does anyone know of a utility or app that will read sub-zero temps? I'd like to know just how well my design is working here...! Lol! :lol: :lol:
SneakyB
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero

Postby The Coolest » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:00 am

Hello,

There's no way to read a temperature that is below zero. The temperature value in the processor's register is stored as an unsigned integer value, therefore it can only go down to 0.
I suppose that motherboard based thermal sensors have a much better chance of working in this situation.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero

Postby SneakyB » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:24 am

I was afraid of that.

My mother board is an ASUS Sabertooth 990 FX. I believe it has thermal readings that go below 0. Problem is is that it only shows in Bios. I can't remember if the utility suite they have in their downloads reads and shows sub zero or not...

I will download it again and give it a shot.

Thanks for your help and your quick reply....
SneakyB
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero

Postby The Coolest » Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:55 am

You can give HWMonitor by CPUID a try, I think it should work with your motherboard.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero

Postby SneakyB » Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:29 pm

Already using HWMonitor. It doesn't allow itself to be screen captured, however. That is why it doesn't show in these pics. It only goes to 0C as well.
SneakyB
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: AMD FX-8120 Black Edition: Core Temp Won't Read Sub-Zero

Postby The Coolest » Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Right, but the motherboard sensors should have a CPU temp reading.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to AMD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest