CPU TDP

Post Reply
JulioCesarSF
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 2:58 pm

CPU TDP

Post by JulioCesarSF »

Hi,

I'm doing a project for college and I'm having difficulty getting the TDP processor.

Where do I find the api to get the TDP?

thank you :oops:

User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Contact:

Re: CPU TDP

Post by The Coolest »

There is no API for TDP. Every CPU vendor chooses a different method of accessing this information.
In either way, it has to be direct access to hardware, which would require you to use a kernel-mode driver.
Main rig:
AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (True Spirit 140 Direct) / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
NAS:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB + HDDs / GPU: ATi Mach64 VT2 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rigs:
Core i3 7130U / MiniPC / SanDisk SDSSDP-128G / GPU: Intel HD 620 / Mem: 1x8GB DDR3L-1600
Xeon X3430 2.40GHz @ 3.06GHz or Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / PNY CS1111 240GB / GPU: ATI FirePro V3800 / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
AMD Phenom II X4 B93 / Mobo: ASUS M2A-VM / GPU: ATI Radeon Xpress X1250 / Crucial M4 120GB / Mem: 2x2GB DDR2-800 - 4GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

JulioCesarSF
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: CPU TDP

Post by JulioCesarSF »

Ty!

What about cpu voltage?

I'm trying to get it from Win32_Processor WMI class and it is always 1 (CurrentVoltage).

Code: Select all

procedure TForm2.GetKernelPerfStateInfo;
const
  WbemUser            ='';
  WbemPassword        ='';
  WbemComputer        ='localhost';
  wbemFlagForwardOnly = $00000020;
var
  FSWbemLocator : OLEVariant;
  FWMIService   : OLEVariant;
  FWbemObjectSet: OLEVariant;
  FWbemObject   : OLEVariant;
  oEnum         : IEnumvariant;
  volt : uInt16;  //uint16    word
  volt2 : uInt32;  //uint32   longword
  v : longword;
begin;
  FSWbemLocator := CreateOleObject('WbemScripting.SWbemLocator');
  FWMIService   := FSWbemLocator.ConnectServer(WbemComputer, 'root/CIMV2', WbemUser, WbemPassword);
  FWbemObjectSet:= FWMIService.ExecQuery('SELECT * FROM Win32_Processor','WQL', wbemFlagForwardOnly);
  oEnum         := IUnknown(FWbemObjectSet._NewEnum) as IEnumVariant;
  while oEnum.Next(1, FWbemObject, v) = 0 do
  begin
    NullStrictConvert := False;
    Volt := FWbemObject.CurrentVoltage; //uint16
    volt2 := FWbemObject.VoltageCaps;  //uint32
    Label5.Caption := 'Current Vcore : '  + IntToStr(Volt) + ' v VoltageCaps : ' + IntToStr(Volt2) + ' v';
    FWbemObject:=Unassigned;
  end;
end;
:x

User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Contact:

Re: CPU TDP

Post by The Coolest »

Same reply as with TDP.
I don't use WMI as you can't rely on it to provide you with solid and accurate information.
Main rig:
AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (True Spirit 140 Direct) / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
NAS:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB + HDDs / GPU: ATi Mach64 VT2 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rigs:
Core i3 7130U / MiniPC / SanDisk SDSSDP-128G / GPU: Intel HD 620 / Mem: 1x8GB DDR3L-1600
Xeon X3430 2.40GHz @ 3.06GHz or Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / PNY CS1111 240GB / GPU: ATI FirePro V3800 / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
AMD Phenom II X4 B93 / Mobo: ASUS M2A-VM / GPU: ATI Radeon Xpress X1250 / Crucial M4 120GB / Mem: 2x2GB DDR2-800 - 4GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Post Reply

Return to “Programming Help”