Page 1 of 1

Cannot maximize CoreTemp main interface

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:41 pm
by RickW
I'm using an old portable CT version 1.06. I want to update to version 1.5.1 which I have downloaded but not yet unpacked.

The problem I'm having is that CT 1.06 was configured by me to start with Windows and minimize to the systray. That works fine but when I right click the systray readings and choose Show/Hide the main interface goes to the taskbar but never finishes loading there. That means I cannot open it or right click and choose maximize to change the settings to not start with Windows. CoreTemp also does not show in the Task Manager/Startup list so I cannot set it there to not start with Windows. Screenshot of taskbar;

Image

I've looked at the .ini file for CT but don't see anything there to change starting with Windows. I would normally just delete the exe and ini files to remove CT 1.06 from the system but I'm concerned that because it is configured to start with Windows by doing that I might have a problem with Windows starting.

Any suggestions on how to fix this so I can safely remove version 1.06 and start using version 1.5.1?

Additional info: I'm using this on an older laptop that came with Windows 7 Pro installed and was subsequently upgraded to Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Edition.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Re: Cannot maximize CoreTemp main interface

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:37 pm
by The Coolest
I think that RC6 had a bug where it could sometimes open out of the bounds of your display, and thus you can't see the window nor interact with it.
Maximize was never an option, since Core Temp sets its own window size.
Close Core Temp, in the ini file change posx and posy values to 0, save and start Core Temp again.

Re: Cannot maximize CoreTemp main interface

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:47 am
by RickW
Thanks for quick reply and the info. I took a chance and just deleted CT portable 1.06 and it's ini file and restarted the computer. Everything booted successfully so I then unzipped CT portable version 1.5.1 and put the executable into my System Monitoring desktop folder. I configured it to start with Windows and minimized to the taskbar. Restarted and it worked fine. The main interface opens when double clicking or right clicking the systray display.

Thanks again and also for your work on a very handy utility I've been using for many years now.