Login | Register

Overlay‏

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Overlay‏

Postby Nevster396 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:24 pm

Hi,

I've been using this program for quite some time now and it is an invaluable resource to me for checking my temperatures on my I7 920 overclocked to 4Ghz, but I was wondering is there any way of overlaying the core temperatures on screen when playing games as this would be ideal, as when I flick back to Windows when playing a game, the CPU load goes back down to zero and I'm not able to get the current temperature of the game I'm playing at that time, I've tried the logging option but an overlay would be more useful if possible.

Many thanks for your help and support.
Nevster396
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:15 pm

Re: Overlay‏

Postby Nevster396 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:11 pm

It would also be great if it could show the load percentage for each core (per thread) on the overlay as well.
Nevster396
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:15 pm

Re: Overlay‏

Postby imposter » Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:12 pm

This has been discussed. For this to be implemented. thecoolest would need to spend a significant amount of time to learn how to do this. and he is currently overloaded as is. So its one of those things that would be nice, but at the moment, time is a limiting factor. There will definitely be news of this on the forums if its in development. I will also get back to this post if it does fall under one of his projects
User avatar
imposter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:07 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Overlay‏

Postby The Coolest » Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:46 pm

That's correct.
I've looked into it some time ago, what needs to be done is API hooks need to be set, for both D3D and OpenGL applications.
This is a lot of work and as imposter mentioned, unfortunately far from top priority right now.
If there was anyone willing to write a plugin for it, I'd very happy to assist if needed.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Overlay‏

Postby Nevster396 » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:29 pm

I've been using the Real Temp plugin for Rivatuner which is able to show temperatures per core onscreen for any game and it has the added advantage of Rivatuner's GUI, if there was a way of getting a Core Temp plugin to use with Rivatuner this would be even better, as Real Temp's readouts are not as accurate as Core Temp, but I'm not sure how much work this would be though to implement.

Many thanks for your reply and your time
Nevster396
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:15 pm

Re: Overlay‏

Postby The Coolest » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:35 am

Core Temp exposes a shared memory block which can be accessed from other applications.
I don't have the time to work on 3rd party plugins right now.
You can see the info about accessing Core Temp's data on this page:
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/developers.html
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Overlay‏

Postby generalmx » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:21 pm

I was posting a request for Overlay support for a different client. It seems Windows has a framework called Detours which can be used like the LD_PRELOAD environment variable in *nix. Here's the link I got the information from:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3486 ... in-windows

Happy coding. Hope this helps.
generalmx
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:17 pm

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest