Login | Register

AMD Ryzen Support

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 19, 2017 11:16 am

@IchBinLuda
Those are some pretty weird looking clock speeds, is Core Temp reading/displaying them correctly?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby IchBinLuda » Fri May 19, 2017 11:44 am

I think so but its slower(refresh) than HWinfo so it doesnt display if they change fast.
IchBinLuda
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 19, 2017 11:50 am

You can change the update\refresh rate in the settings.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby IchBinLuda » Fri May 19, 2017 12:39 pm

The Coolest wrote:You can change the update\refresh rate in the settings.


Where? I know for "Temperature polling interval" but didn't see for frequency or is it the same? Mine is 1000ms.

But the temperature and the utilization refresh is already fast so i don't know why the frequency changes so slow
IchBinLuda
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 19, 2017 12:42 pm

It's the polling frequency, it affects everything in Core Temp
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Fri May 19, 2017 5:07 pm

You can set it as low as 100ms and it would use the same CPU as 500ms or more, basically no CPU usage (I see 0% and occasional 0.2 and 0.3%) HWinfo takes up to 1.3% CPU sometimes and 0.5% most of the time with a whopping 2000ms polling rate.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby IchBinLuda » Fri May 19, 2017 5:36 pm

It seams that the program doesnt refresh the screen. Whe i hit F5 then i can see frequency changhing. But if a leave it just open only the utilization percentage is changing.
IchBinLuda
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Fri May 19, 2017 6:25 pm

Tried the CoreTemp android app....can't see the "Menu" key anywhere.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 19, 2017 8:40 pm

Yes, the app is quite outdated by now.
Every android device still has a way to simulate the 'menu' key, you just have to look it up.
On some devices, holding the back key should do it.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Fri May 19, 2017 9:45 pm

oh! thank you. that did it.

So i could connect everything (port forwarding and all) and the Staus is "Online" and when I click on the item I see, processor, Freq, Votls, RAM....but none displays anything, no numbers after these fields.

oh, i have the lite version, for some reason The store crashes when I try to install the Pro version....i guess I need to reset my phone cause is now rooted and cannot update the OS.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 19, 2017 10:29 pm

Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Fri May 19, 2017 10:34 pm

Thank you :) now it works, and extremely well too. :) thanks again.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby jakeo99o » Fri May 19, 2017 10:41 pm

R7 1800x

Core temp seems to be giving me same info as HWinfo as well. Let me know if there is any more info needed from me!
Attachments
coretemp.png
coretemp.png (15.39 KiB) Viewed 3600 times
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(101.92 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
jakeo99o
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:36 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Sat May 20, 2017 9:42 pm

If this serves for any info:

I actually probed the CPU vcore from the chip itself.

4Ghz: 40x multiplier - 1.375V vcore setting - LLC4

At idle:

BIOS and HWinfo = 1.375V

CPUz = mostly 1.352 (and jumps up to 1.373 and is all around the place)

Multimeter = 1.38V

At load:

HWinfo = 1.362V (stable)

CPUz = mostly 1.428V (and jumps too)

Multimeter = 1.397V (stable)

So LLC4 is indeed giving a small vboost. I know the voltages taken are right because I tested the multimeter with a 12V adapter.

The vboost is pretty close to 1.4V which is still safe. All I need to know is if LLC4 is peaking too high.

At this point I would assume LLC5 will have a pretty big and potentially dangerous vboost.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Sat May 20, 2017 11:19 pm

You can't really use a standard multimeter to check for peaks, as it usually measures the voltage over a certain period of time and 'averages' any peaks.
Higher end meters do allow measuring peaks, and of course you can use an oscilloscope to check for voltage peaks.
So I'm not too sure a multimeter is a valid measurement, unless you're going for the average vcore.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Sat May 20, 2017 11:40 pm

Yes that was part of a thread, I asked someone a bit earlier to test his board with a professional oscilloscope for peaks. After that I just got curious and wanted at least to know the actual voltages on my board. Turns out nothing matches in any software with the actual voltage.

Now, someone suggested me to put the ground probe closer to the piece I'm testing. Otherwise the measurements could be off. I took the ground from the chassis, quite separated from the testing piece on the back of the board where the socket is. So I might try again. EDIT: I did try closer and the measurements were the same.
Saccosvd
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby duocia » Sat May 27, 2017 3:37 pm

Maybe I could also get files to test it?
duocia
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby skweeble » Sun May 28, 2017 8:48 pm

Hi, Could I get the files to test it please. I've got a AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
skweeble
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 8:41 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Sun May 28, 2017 9:36 pm

@duocia @skweeble
You both have PMs.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby wichid » Mon May 29, 2017 5:35 am

Here is my new register dump using the new version
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
R7 1700X
ASUS B-350 PLUS
CoreTemp 1.7.1
(89.67 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
wichid
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 9:02 am

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby skweeble » Mon May 29, 2017 10:24 am

Thanks @The Coolest.

Here's my Screentshot and text dump.

CoreTemp-Screenshot.JPG
CoreTemp-Screenshot.JPG (50.06 KiB) Viewed 3358 times

CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(111.95 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
skweeble
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 8:41 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby anselhelm » Mon May 29, 2017 3:14 pm

If you're still looking for testers for the new version, I'd be happy to test and post back a minidump, after confirming it's reporting correctly on my AM4 system (Ryzen 7 1700, MSI B350 Tomahawk Arctic).
anselhelm
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby abba2566 » Mon May 29, 2017 5:57 pm

Any chance I could grab the beta too?
Just built a system with a Ryzen 7 1700.
Main: Ryzen 7 1700, ASUS Prime B350-Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb, GTX 960
abba2566
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby abba2566 » Mon May 29, 2017 6:18 pm

Image
Core Temp beta along side the temp displayed on AMD's Ryzen Master overclock tool.

CoreTemp dump from the beta is attached
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump-abba2566-Ryzen1700.txt
(89.53 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Main: Ryzen 7 1700, ASUS Prime B350-Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb, GTX 960
abba2566
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby anselhelm » Mon May 29, 2017 7:03 pm

Thank you @ The Coolest.

As requested (and promised), here is a screenshot and dump from the latest version from my Ryzen 7 system.

Image

Working absolutely fine for me with Ryzen 7 1700, MSI B350 Tomahawk Arctic and Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(95.49 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
anselhelm
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 3:09 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron