Login | Register

Xeon D support?

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Xeon D support?

Postby MihaStar » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:48 am

Hi!

The CoreTemp tool seems to be alive after a long standby period... That's great! :D
The latest 1.2 version claimed to have Intel Xeon CPUs supported, but it seems to me some models are still missing.

I have two Xeon D based systems nearby, D-1527 and D-1548, they are not detected properly.
I'm sending the screenshots and register dumps from both of them.
I suppose the entire Xeon-D lineup will behave the same.
Hope to see the improvements in Core Temp :) .

Regards.

D-1527.txt
(182.32 KiB) Downloaded 109 times

D-1548.txt
(209.85 KiB) Downloaded 114 times

Image Image
User avatar
MihaStar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby The Coolest » Wed Sep 07, 2016 1:47 am

Interesting bunch of CPUs.
Thanks for the heads up, support added to the next release.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby MihaStar » Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:22 am

Thank you!

In future I'll get the boards with D-1567 and Pentium D1508 & D1517, and will check them too.
User avatar
MihaStar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby MihaStar » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:33 pm

Checked version 1.3 on D-1527 and D-1548, both are okay. Thank you for doing that so fast! :)

:idea: I have another suggestion for discussion: in fact, there are two "energy values in joules" available for any Intel CPU via MSR values.
The first is generally a computing core consumed energy, while the second value depends on the CPU segment - for desktop/mobile models it's energy consumed by graphics core (GT), while for server/workstation models (without graphics) it's energy consumed by memory controller.

How do you think, is it difficult to add an additional field to the program interface that will show the second power value respective to the CPU model? I think it might be useful...
User avatar
MihaStar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby The Coolest » Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:08 pm

I think it shouldn't be very difficult to add that value, I just never really thought it would be very useful. I'll consider adding this in a future version, thanks.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby MihaStar » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:43 am

The Coolest wrote:I think it shouldn't be very difficult to add that value, I just never really thought it would be very useful. I'll consider adding this in a future version, thanks.

Performed some experiments today, sharing the result (for anyone who is interested):
The reference document is "Intel® 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software Developer’s Manual" located at http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/architecture-and-technology/64-ia-32-architectures-software-developer-manual-325462.html
The MSRs responsible for power metering are described in "14.9.1 RAPL Interfaces" section.

In fact there are four energy values that are being measured
-Package (total energy consumed by the CPU)
-PP0 (IA execution cores)
-PP1 (Uncore block, but I think it's on-chip Graphics Engine (GT))
-DRAM (DRAM controller)
As I understand, Package energy = sum of (PP0 + PP1 + DRAM)

I added the following MSR registers to the RW Everything:
MSR_PKG_ENERGY_STATUS=0x611
MSR_DRAM_ENERGY_STATUS=0x619
MSR_PP0_ENERGY_STATUS=0x639
MSR_PP1_ENERGY_STATUS=0x641


When my 4790K is operating with a discrete videocard, and the onboard HD4600 is disabled, the PP1 counter shows zeroes and doesn't increment.
When the onboard graphics is enabled, all four counters are active, so it seems PP1 is responsible for graphics rather than for other Uncore components (like CPU PCIe controller).

The use for additional power meters might be the following:
-to see when the DRAM is heavily loaded or not (good to see when Linx is allocating the RAM and when it performs active calculations)
-to see how much the GT cores consume in different scenarios (for mobile-U-Y CPUs).

Thanks :)
User avatar
MihaStar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby The Coolest » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:44 pm

Thanks, I've got that doc always up to date and open when I work on the Intel side of things.
Sadly I don't have a Xeon to try this out on, but I did check both PP0 and PP1 on an i3 Broadwell-U and it worked pretty well. PP0 registered a lower power usage than PKG and PP1 maxed out at around 1W :D
I'm not convinced that it's a very useful piece of information to be added to the GUI, as with the current way things are designed will require another line, which takes more real estate on the screen. I'll try to think if there's an intuitive way to somehow put the power values side by side, similar to the Min/Max/Load values.
My 2600K didn't show anything for DRAM_STATUS, I guess that this MSR is only available in the server variety, perhaps in the later chips Intel has enabled them for consumer parts as well.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby MihaStar » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:42 pm

After some time spent in Paint..... Take a look :)

Image

I tried to keep the GUI style, and it seems it's pretty good :)

The only thing is the former TDP fiels, it should be filled with something else in my case :?:
User avatar
MihaStar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: Xeon D support?

Postby The Coolest » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:09 pm

Heh, that's good. I just think it wastes a lot of space vertically that way. I really want to have the power readings fit completely into one line (similar to what you did) but in the main area of the readings.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests