Login | Register

Taskbar Icons

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Taskbar Icons

Postby userwin7 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:53 am

I am running Core Temp 1.0 RC4 & Would like to have control over the order of Icons in "sequence" that the (user sets in settings) by default seems core0 is always out front of the pack no matter what i set anything to. I have or want Load, Clock, Core0-3 in that order, Now on re-boot the order is Core0, Load, Clock, Core1-3 (See Attachments) and you have to open up settings and change the sequence by clicking boxes and moving the icon (Core0) down in the taskbar to make what you want. Just like to know if this is possible to keep it "whatever" you set as in settings. Love the software it works great!
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Core Temp 1.0 RC4 Settings for Taskbar (Before & After)
Capture.PNG (65.67 KiB) Viewed 3742 times
userwin7
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Taskbar Icons

Postby The Coolest » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:19 pm

This was discussed before, and unfortunately there is no way to make the icons appear in a specific order.
In Vista/XP/2000 the icons appeared in the same order they were created and added to the taskbar. In 7 they appear in random order and Windows decides where to place them on the taskbar.
I've not seen any way to control this order via code (if anyone knows, please let me know), so there is no way for me to make them to be displayed in order :(
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Taskbar Icons

Postby userwin7 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:58 am

Hello The Coolest,

I did a little checking and see in the "Notification Area Icons" that CPU temperature and system information utility list all (6) pickups on mine, Seems this should be more Personal to each input aka: Core0=Core0, Load=Load like EVGA does with the GPU & fan (If this can be done that is :?:) i have pic. attached All the others "icons" seem to stay in sequence as you Re-boot, just Windows looks to Core Temps Default-Settings in which order the icons go.

Your software seems to work as coded :D it stays where I set it at and stays that way after Re-boot, Just the 2 Clock, Load i add get put in between Core0 & Core1 not at the front of the icons on taskbar. So even if i move them via mouse to what i want, I thinking windows does not know what is what (above) and relies on the "Default" settings in Core Temp software itself.

So if you can't change the above for any reason (like might not work anymore) then make the adding of Clock, Load to the taskbar icons first or in front of Core0 Not in between Core0 & Core1. That should fix the sequence, cause what you set in settings is what you get as in Re-boot in the icons. (if that makes sense)

If you need me as tester for this or anything let me know, I be glad to try and help out!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving be safe!!
Attachments
Capture-3.PNG
Capture-3.PNG (86.19 KiB) Viewed 3732 times
userwin7
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Taskbar Icons

Postby Naki » Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:21 am

Um, not sure about Core Temp Tray icons, but Windows 7 allows you to drag each Tray icon to whatever place you want it to. :D

EDIT: Also, forgot to mention - System Tray icons (now called Notification Area in Windows 7) are not taskbar icons!
So, the title of this thread should be "System Tray icons" or maybe "Notification Area icons".
Last edited by Naki on Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Naki
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Eastern Europe

Re: Taskbar Icons

Postby userwin7 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:13 pm

Yes this is true Windows 7 does let you move the icons to wherever you want, But if you as "me" shutdown your computer or reboot a lot of times the icons go back to the Default of what CoreTemp has in settings or you have set. So i just got used to the way they are "standard" i have Clock, Load different colors so easier to spot. :D
userwin7
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Taskbar Icons

Postby The Coolest » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:27 am

Just wanted to update this thread.
As I said before, it's impossible to tell Windows 7 in what sequence to display the tray icons.
But I did implement the recommended change to the tray icon tip, so the change will be available in the next version:
Image
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron