Login | Register

Average CPU usage in gadget

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Average CPU usage in gadget

Postby Storm Kraken » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:49 pm

Would it be possible to have the option to add the average percent of the whole CPU being used somewhere in the Core Temp Gadget? I used to use a gadget similar to the Core Temp Gadget that did this in its corner, and I found it useful.
Storm Kraken
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:14 am

Re: Average CPU usage in gadget

Postby The Coolest » Sat Sep 18, 2010 4:10 pm

In v2.5 go to the Graphs section, and tick "Display global CPU load in RAM graph".
This is will display an average cpu load instead of the memory usage graph.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Average CPU usage in gadget

Postby Storm Kraken » Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:55 am

I guess technically that does what I was asking, but I was looking more for something that would give the average percent of CPU usage as a number somewhere on the gadget. I have a another program that performs actions depending on how high the average CPU is, and I would like to have a better idea of how that number varies with different tasks. It's a small issue for me, but it might be convenient.

I would use the system tray CPU load icon, but it doesn't contrast enough with my toolbar to be able to see it (and trying to change its color seems to cause Core Temp to crash). Having the number on the gadget fits more with the way my computer is organized than having the number in the system tray anyway.
Storm Kraken
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:14 am

Re: Average CPU usage in gadget

Postby The Coolest » Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:11 am

This option is a consideration for the next release as well (an extra set of bars), so you'll just have to wait for the next release :)
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Average CPU usage in gadget

Postby Storm Kraken » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:43 am

Sounds good, thanks. I'll just have to be patient then. :wink:

An extra set of bars sounds interesting anyway.
Storm Kraken
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:14 am

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest