Login | Register

AMD Ryzen Support

User feature requests
Planned features for Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

AMD Ryzen Support

Postby nikola49 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:23 pm

Hello,
I've been using your software since early ages of windows 7.
I've just recently upgraded to a better CPU, however this gadget doesn't seem to work now.
I am using AMD Ryzen 7 1700 and windows 10.
It only displays usage per core and ram usage properly, otherwise all other information is incorrect.
The CPU is recognized as AMD Processor BE, @ 798MHz, TDP 0 watts, temperatures 0 or N/A.

Thanks in advance.
nikola49
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:05 am

Hi,

Ryzen is not supported yet. AMD has not even released any tech documentation publicly yet.
I'll get working on adding support for it once tech docs are released and I have something to work with.
I'd still appreciate it if you could upload a register dump (tools menu) from your system. The more samples I get the better I can test Core Temp before release.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby KageUnui » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:26 pm

Not op, but i do have a 1700x and would also like to continue using this software. Thank you so much!

CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(87.33 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
KageUnui
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:22 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby nikola49 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:25 pm

I have a Ryzen 7 1700, just tell me how to obtain the information you need.
nikola49
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:57 pm

Tools --> Register dump.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby egkenny » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:31 pm

CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X
MBD: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
O/S: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

BTW, I used "Desktop Gadgets/Sidebar" to get gadgets in Windows 10. Then I could use the Core Temp Gadget v2.8.
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(92.03 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Main rig:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X (3.4GHz) / MBD: Asus Prime X370-Pro / SSD: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 (500GB) / HDD: WD Black (2TB) / GPU: Asus STRIX-GTX1060-6G-GAMING (6GB) / RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8GB) / PSU: Corsair RM750i (750W) / OS: Win 10 Pro (64b)
Secondary rig:
CPU: AMD FX-8350 (4.0GHz) / MBD: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 / HDD: Seagate (1TB), 2 x WD Cav Blue (1TB) / GPU: Asus GTX 560 (1GB) / RAM: G.SKILL RipJawsX (2x4GB) / PSU: TruePower New TP-650 (650W) / OS: Win 7 Ult (64b)
User avatar
egkenny
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby nikola49 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:14 pm

Alright, here's my register dump:
Ryzen 7 1700.

CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(87.33 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
nikola49
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby nikola49 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:18 pm

egkenny wrote:CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X
MBD: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
O/S: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit


Weird, your bus speed is also under 100MHz, I have the same board. I contacted Asus, and they told me it's some measurement bug, but I think they're lying. The same guy tried to convince me that putting an external clock generator on mobo was expensive...
Do you also have issues with DDR4 at clocks higher than 3GHz ?
nikola49
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby The Coolest » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:24 pm

@nikola49
The bus speed is almost never exactly 100.00MHz, there's always some offset. I can't say for sure whether it's a measuring bug, but it's probably not (in theory it could be a timing limit). You can run other applications which report CPU frequency, and you'll see that none of them will show exactly 100.00MHz.
On the same breath Intel SkyLake and KabyLake processors no longer require software to actively measure bus clock speeds, you can simply read it from a special register in the CPU, and even on those systems the bus clock is practically never at exactly 100MHz.
In other words, this is a non-issue.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby randomlogin3.14 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:42 am

It's a R7 1700 @ 3.8GHz with SMT disabled, in case that affects the dump.

I appreciate your effort.
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(83.27 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
randomlogin3.14
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:36 am

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby egkenny » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:56 am

nikola49 wrote:
egkenny wrote:CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X
MBD: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
O/S: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit


Weird, your bus speed is also under 100MHz, I have the same board. I contacted Asus, and they told me it's some measurement bug, but I think they're lying. The same guy tried to convince me that putting an external clock generator on mobo was expensive...
Do you also have issues with DDR4 at clocks higher than 3GHz ?

I have Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16 16GB(2*8GB) RAM. Unfortunately it seems to run only at 2133 MHz. DOCP set it at DOCP2666 but I don't think that made any difference.

ASUS's QVL shows it as:
Vendor = CORSAIR
Part No. = CMK16GX4M2A2666C16
RAM Speed = 2666 MHz
Size = 16GB(2*8GB)
SS/DS = SS
RAM Speed = 2666 MHz
Supported Speed with Ryzen CPU = 2133 MHz

The problem was that when I ordered the RAM on February 24 there was no QVL out yet to refer to.
Main rig:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X (3.4GHz) / MBD: Asus Prime X370-Pro / SSD: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 (500GB) / HDD: WD Black (2TB) / GPU: Asus STRIX-GTX1060-6G-GAMING (6GB) / RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8GB) / PSU: Corsair RM750i (750W) / OS: Win 10 Pro (64b)
Secondary rig:
CPU: AMD FX-8350 (4.0GHz) / MBD: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 / HDD: Seagate (1TB), 2 x WD Cav Blue (1TB) / GPU: Asus GTX 560 (1GB) / RAM: G.SKILL RipJawsX (2x4GB) / PSU: TruePower New TP-650 (650W) / OS: Win 7 Ult (64b)
User avatar
egkenny
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby razvan_g » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:30 pm

Hello
I have been using Core Temp for a long time and I want to use it on my new Ryzen build :)
So, here is Register dump from my sistem.
Ryzen 7 1700X
Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming 5.
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(110.8 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
razvan_g
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby egkenny » Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:26 am

Update from BIOS 0502 (default) to BIOS 0504
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump (BIOS 0504).txt
(92.03 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Main rig:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X (3.4GHz) / MBD: Asus Prime X370-Pro / SSD: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 (500GB) / HDD: WD Black (2TB) / GPU: Asus STRIX-GTX1060-6G-GAMING (6GB) / RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8GB) / PSU: Corsair RM750i (750W) / OS: Win 10 Pro (64b)
Secondary rig:
CPU: AMD FX-8350 (4.0GHz) / MBD: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 / HDD: Seagate (1TB), 2 x WD Cav Blue (1TB) / GPU: Asus GTX 560 (1GB) / RAM: G.SKILL RipJawsX (2x4GB) / PSU: TruePower New TP-650 (650W) / OS: Win 7 Ult (64b)
User avatar
egkenny
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: AMD Ryzen Support

Postby Saccosvd » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:25 am

1800x running at 3.925Ghz

PRIME X370-PRO BIOS 0504

64GB RAM (Corsair LED 3000Mhz running at 2133Mhz) part number CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(87.34 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Saccosvd
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:43 pm

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest