Sony Viao VGN-Z31VN shutting down at bad moments!

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
DavidJA

Sony Viao VGN-Z31VN shutting down at bad moments!

Post by DavidJA »

Arthur (I guess it's you),

Many thanks for such an interesting device - even though I am a complete beginner in these things. Your fame led someone in a flight simulation forum to recommend Core Temp in order to understand whether overheating has been the cause of frustration (actually MS Flight Simulator X plus PMDG JS41 Jetstream model, which combination has suddenly caused total shutdown from time to time).

Based on reading your material it is possible that my Sony Vaio laptop may be running a bit hot all the time, even without the FSX flight sim. FSX might then take it over the limit to prompt the shutdown. But to what extent is "normal" different for laptops? What does the bracketed exclamation mark mean? Does the occasional, brief high peak matter or should one take steps to avoid even a momentary peak over 85 in this case of 105 TjMax?

I haven't done anything unusual to the machine or with the machine and it's supposed to be a reasonably capable laptop. The extractor fan seems to be working OK too, so I simply don't know what sensible measure(s) to take. :(

Here are my screenshot and register dump, without the MS flight sim product having been run:
CoreTemp-Scr DA 22Jly10.png
CoreTemp-Dump DA 22Jly10.txt
Any advice or re-direction you can give would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Best wishes,

David
London

PS: since posting this I have also run the MS flight simulator and learned how to log Core Temp data. So here it is too, in case it's helpful to you.
CT-Log 18-04-50 Jul-22-2010.csv