Login | Register

4800+ Brisbane temps...

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby zephyr » Fri May 21, 2010 3:24 pm

Hi,
first of all thanks to the creator of CoreTemp, your program is the best quick & easy solution to read the core temperatures!

I am wondering, however, whether the offsets are correct on my machine. The temperatures that core temp reads for my x2 AM2 4800+ Brisbane are rather high, even at standard clock. I've attached a screenshot so you can see for yourself.
CoreTemp-Scr.png
CoreTemp-Scr.png (14.87 KiB) Viewed 4833 times

Also the differences between core 1 and core 0 are always several, even up to 10 degrees Celsius apart when in idle, I heard that this is a common bug with the Brisbane diodes but I don't know which value is right now. I wonder whether these temperatures are correct, and whether they are too high. When I stress the CPU with Orthos Prime, both cores heat up to 72° C and more. What scares me is that AMD specify the maximum temp of this CPU to be 72°C (http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCP ... &f11=&f12=)
I consider my air cooling solution decent, it looks a lot like this:
Image
CPU cooler is a Freezer 64 pro.
I have tried tons of other tools such as HWmonitor and Everest and all of them show the same core temps plus a number of mysterious other temperatures. I'm having a hard time finding my CPU socket temp, I believe it to be measured at the AUX diode but I'm not sure, because the AUX temperature read in other programs has differences from 3-13° degrees lower than the core temps.
Please tell me what I should do, because I don't feel there's a way to safely overclock this thing without overheating it.
Help would be very appreciated!
zephyr
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby zephyr » Sun May 23, 2010 1:03 pm

TL;DR ??
zephyr
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby The Coolest » Mon May 24, 2010 11:23 am

Have patience. I reply as soon as I have some time.
What temperature does your BIOS report?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby zephyr » Tue May 25, 2010 8:00 pm

Sorry, I wasn't sure whether this forum was still active.
Strangely, my BIOS reports much lower temps, similar to HWMONITOR it usually says 40°, doesn't change much though, since the CPU isn't doing much work in BIOS mode.
zephyr
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby The Coolest » Tue May 25, 2010 8:39 pm

Then my recommendation is to set an offset of -21.
AMD's specifications indicate that most Brisbane cores under-report by 21c and an offset should be added.
This doesn't apply to all of them though, so offsetting this should yield a more accurate reading.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby zephyr » Wed May 26, 2010 9:04 am

Thanks a lot, I set the offset to -21 now.
Weirdly, my overclocked 4800+ with 25mhz added FSB (@ 2,8ghz) and the fan running @ 80% now reports idle temps as low as 19° on the second core. That's much lower than even the CPU temperature read by HWmonitor, which now reports 45°. Should I be worried?

EDIT: oh wait. Isn't the offset for AM2+ CPUs only? My Brisbane is a socket AM2.
zephyr
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: 4800+ Brisbane temps...

Postby The Coolest » Mon May 31, 2010 1:01 pm

It is for AM2 only, yes.

I don't think it's a critical temp, but you may want to consider improving your CPU cooling.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests