Login | Register

Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z » Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:43 pm

I see temperatures and loads that are higher than they should be. E.G., all cores may suddenly jump into the 90Cs while I'm browsing the internet and listening to music. Thanks.
LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:35 pm

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby The Coolest » Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:31 am

If you see load and temp go up at the same time, it's unlikely to be Core Temp misreadaing, and more likely that there's a program or service which runs periodically and does this.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z » Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:17 pm

Thanks. Loads do rise, but they don't match the CPU usage % Windows Task Manager Shows.
LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:35 pm

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby The Coolest » Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:36 pm

Not sure. Could be a driver, or maybe you have to select "show processes from all users" if you're on Windows 7.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:41 pm

Thanks. Any reason (software or hardware, if anyone knows) <50% might get me to 80+C now, when it took 80-90% to get me into the 80+C, a week ago?
LjSOrBpTsXHJ4x7z
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:35 pm

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby The Coolest » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:20 pm

There are different loads that affect core temperatures differently.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Can anything cause Core Temp to misread?

Postby Naki » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:15 am

If your GPU is (also) overheating/heavily loaded and/or too hot, it will affect the temperature in the whole PC case. Most (all?) modern web browsers use your GPU a lot, they do not load only the CPU.
For example, audio/video plays using very little CPU and mostly uses your GPU. (this is true for all of latest MS IE, MS Edge, Firefox, Chrome/etc browsers)
So, you should look at both CPU and GPU temps.

A good tool for monitoring your GPU is GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/download/gpu-z/
Naki
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Eastern Europe

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest