Login | Register

Why Core temp app connects to 192.185.41.230 in the bkgnd?

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Why Core temp app connects to 192.185.41.230 in the bkgnd?

Postby dc2017 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:48 am

As a general precaution/safety rule I pass all freeware that I download from the Internet via a ProcMon / Wireshark to see if it's doing any mischief in the background.

So while starting Core Temp.exe I observed that it connects to 192.185.41.230 IP address in the background.

Here's a screenshot from ProcMon:

Image

And here's the screenshot from Wireshark:

Image


Can developers explain what is being sent in the binary form in that transmission?

What is the purpose of it in a utility that is supposed to measure CPU temperature?

And how to disable it?
dc2017
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:38 am

Re: Why Core temp app connects to 192.185.41.230 in the bkgn

Postby The Coolest » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:18 am

This is Core Temp performing a check for updates.
Do a ping to alcpu.com and you will see that exact IP address.
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/coretempver.xml is the file it downloads and examines to see if an update is available.
You can disable the automatic update check in Options --> Settings.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Why Core temp app connects to 192.185.41.230 in the bkgn

Postby Naki » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:12 am

My opinion is too much paranoia going on here. Check for Updates is a useful function IMHO.
Naki
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Eastern Europe

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron