Login | Register

Windows 7 problem?

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Windows 7 problem?

Postby mikejkay » Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:13 pm

I have used Core Temp for some time and have been very happy with it and I was annoyed when Microsoft arbitrarily removed gadget functionality. Recently, for some reason or other, I lost the Core Temp gadget although CoreTemp itself is fine, currently Ver 1.4-64 bit. I have downloaded Ver 2.8 of the gadget and placed CoreTempGadget2.8.gadget in a CoreTempGadget subdirectory of Plugins which itself is a subdirectory of Core Temp. All as per the FAQ.

The gadget no longer starts on boot up and in order to get it to work I have to right click the screen, select gadgets and double click Core Temp. This brings up The Core Temp gadget. However, I cannot open the options menu and if I try I get an error message that Core Temp is not running despite the temperatures showing in the toolbar. Also, the error message seems to show that Core Temp Gadget v2.7 is running.

Have I done something wrong, or is this some shenanighins on the part of Microsoft :evil:
mikejkay
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby The Coolest » Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:54 pm

What I suggest you do is after you restart the system, go into the gadgets drawer, right click the Core Temp gadget and uninstall it.
The new version is very easy to install, since it's not a Core Temp plugin, all you have to do is double click on the .gadget file to install it.
Make sure that you have .Net 3.5 enabled in 'Turn Windows features on or off'.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby mikejkay » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:21 pm

I have followed your instructions. Found CoreTemGadget2.8.gadget (414kb) double clicked, asked if I wanted to install, clicked yes. Nothing.
Went back to gadgets menuu, Core Temp Gadget had reappeared. Opened Core Temp Gadget, same as before, ver 2.7? Says at bthe bottom of the gadget "Version 2.8 is available" :(
mikejkay
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby mikejkay » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:36 pm

OK. I've now enabled net 3.5, deleted the gadget, double clicked on CoreTempGadget2.8.gadget and clicked Yes to install. Nada, except that now Core Temp Gadget is no longer in my gadgets so I can't even open ver. 2.7
mikejkay
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby The Coolest » Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:25 pm

Something must have gone wrong with the Gadget system in your Windows install. You can try to install the gadget manually:
The '.gadget' file is a simple zip file, so you can use winrar, 7zip, etc. to extract it to a folder, 'coretempgadget28.gadget' (it has to have the .gadget suffix).
Then place it in C:\Users\*your-username*\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets.
Open the gadget drawer again normally, it should be there, I hope.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby mikejkay » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:58 pm

Nope ;( I have four subdirectories in Windows Sidebar/Gadgets, they all have the suffix .gadget. All four also have a common file "gadget.xml". I have placed a copy of CoreTempGadget2.8.gadget in Windows Sidebar/Gadgets and rebooted to no avail. This is getting very frustrating.
mikejkay
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Windows 7 problem?

Postby The Coolest » Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:54 pm

I'm sorry to say, I don't know what is wrong on your system. This 'manual' installation should've worked.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron