Login | Register

Power value

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Power value

Postby GRABibus » Sat Aug 27, 2016 11:35 pm

Hello,
what is the "Power" value just below Tjmax ?

It remains very low and seems to be not reading the right value....

Here is a screenshot example :

Image

As you can see, it is 2.8W...

Thank you for help.
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:52 am

This field is supposed to display the current power consumption of the CPU, but it appears that both Core Temp and HWInfo have an issue with the Haswell-EP processor.
Could you please post a register dump of the CPU? (It's in the tools menu)
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:27 am

here it is :
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(199.51 KiB) Downloaded 126 times
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:32 pm

Did it help you ?
Can you solve ?
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:35 pm

I haven't had the chance to work on it yet, I'll update this thread once there's news on this issue.
I'm sure that it shouldn't be a difficult fix, though, so I expect this to be fixed in the next version.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:53 pm

Looks like Broadwell-EP has the same problem: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=5743&p=14235#p14235
According to Intel's latest documentation I can't see what the reason is for this problem. It seems that even Intel's own program has the same issue with detecting the correct energy consumption.
I'm sure this is something that can be fixed, I'm just not too sure what the problem is exactly.
Could you please try and see if there is some sort of 'fixed' ratio between what Core Temp and AIDA64 show?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:41 pm

Difficult to say...
Aida64 shows Power value between 12W and 30W at idle (Depending on Vcore as I am on adapative mode with EIST enabled).
Core temp only shows fixed value at 0.6W.
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:59 pm

Could you please run something CPU intensive to test this? LinX for example. See if the readings in Core Temp change from 0.6W or are stuck there all the time.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:48 pm

Depnds on the stress test :

- Prime95 v26.6 Small FFT's =>remains at 0.6W
- Aida64 "CPU+FPU" stress test => remains at 0.6W
- Aida64 "Cache" stress test => moves to 3W
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:52 pm

Weird. Perhaps they changed something in the way things work. I'll try to do some more research on this.
Could you see if Intel's Power Gadget has the same problem too?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:18 pm

Sorry, but I don't want to install this thing :)
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Postby The Coolest » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:32 pm

Heh, that's ok. Could you maybe see what HWMonitor says?

Sent from my SGH-i917 using Tapatalk
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby GRABibus » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:23 pm

HWMonitor "CPU Package power" value => Same as with Core temp
PSU COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
MOTHERBOARD ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS 0801)
CPU INTEL Core i7-5930K@Core=4,4GHz / Cache=4,3GHz
SSD SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB (system)
GPU ASUS GeForce GTX TITAN X
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 16GB=4x4GB @ 3200MHz @ 15-16-16-36-250-1T
Windows 10 Professional Anniversary Update 64-bit
User avatar
GRABibus
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:57 pm

Thanks.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power value

Postby The Coolest » Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:07 pm

Could you please check with the latest HWMonitor 1.30 whether the package power is still the same as before?
Also are there any other power figures available?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron