Login | Register

hello. quick question

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

hello. quick question

Postby eschatoniii » Sat Jul 02, 2016 2:13 am

i am using an amd a4-3305m processor for which the listed tjmax is 100c. Core Temp shows it to be 115c, so im guessing i need to use a 15c offset. if that is true; would that be a positive 15c or negative 15c? i am a little unsure. Thanks!
eschatoniii
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 2:02 am

Re: hello. quick question

Postby The Coolest » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:59 am

A reading of 115C would indicate that your CPU is definitely overheating, and no amount of offsets will help things.
I would suggest you read this article on how the AMD thermal sensor works to better understand what's happening:
http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2122 ... -apus.html
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: hello. quick question

Postby eschatoniii » Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:26 pm

The Coolest wrote:A reading of 115C would indicate that your CPU is definitely overheating, and no amount of offsets will help things.
I would suggest you read this article on how the AMD thermal sensor works to better understand what's happening:
http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2122 ... -apus.html


the 115c i mentioned is not a reading of my cpu temp. it is what core temp says is the tjmax for my processor. the manufacturer says the tjmax for my processor is 100c. is this not what the offset feature in Core Temp is meant to fix? if core temp is not showing the correct tjmax for my processor, it is not giving me an accurate reading of how hot my cpu is getting; which defeats the purpose.
eschatoniii
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 2:02 am

Re: hello. quick question

Postby The Coolest » Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:38 pm

Not really. It was meant to offset the temperature by a certain amount, but I usually don't recommend using it.
If you read the article I linked, you'll see that there's no point in it.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests