Login | Register

False temp reading

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

False temp reading

Postby Roffen » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:06 pm

I just installed Core Temp (Win7) but it shows a temp of 18°C while the ASUS BIOS shows 31°C and I believe ASUS is right, so what do I do with Core Temp?

It might be useful if I could use it during actual use of my computer to determine if the cooling system is working properly.
Roffen
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Addendum

Postby Roffen » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:13 pm

Before my last (and my first as well)post has been approved I realize that it might be a good idea to give the CPU details:

AMD Phenom II x3 720 2.8 GHz
Roffen
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Re: False temp reading

Postby The Coolest » Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:08 pm

The temp sensors in AMD CPUs usually under report by 10-20C. You can compensate for that difference by going to Options-->Adjust offsets.
Also check out the FAQ: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=892
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests