Login | Register

Trouble with android app at work

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Trouble with android app at work

Postby jbs001 » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:08 am

Hello,
I am running Core Temp 1.0 RC3 on my clevo laptop (win7-64bit).
Also just nabbed Core Temp Monitor for my android phone.
I work at a California university and our internet is provided using a cable.
I sucessfully downloaded and unzipped the 9 files inside folder CoreTempRemoteServer, inside plugins folder, inside the Core Temp program folder under Program Files.
The plugin is enabled and running.
I seem to be lost in setting up the communication between the android app and my laptop.
I went online to find "my" ip address and also used ipconfig from the cmd window and used this IPv4 address in the setting for the adroid app.
However, when I save and try to access the server, the app status remains in search and eventuall turns to Status: offline.
I know I'm missing something obvious here, but I just can't figure it out.
I'm not behind a router, at least not at work, tonight I will be and can experiment more with port forwarding. What is interferring with the connection at my work while trying to connect by 3g/4g?
Should I be trying to do this after connecting my android by wifi to my laptop?
I havent done that before and may need help with that as well.
Thanks in advance for any trouble shooting help, I should be able to check back in later tonight.
Core Temp Rocks!
jbs001
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:45 am

Re: Trouble with android app at work

Postby jbs001 » Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:00 pm

Connected Core Temp Monitor at home with two computers and one router with no trouble.
Will test my attempt at port forwarding today at work.
I usually connect my android to the wireless campus internet.
I do that to keep my data consumption low.
jbs001
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:45 am

Re: Trouble with android app at work

Postby The Coolest » Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:10 pm

Many public hot spots will block non-standard ports.
So trying to connect to a 5000 port will simply not work. I'm not sure how data plans do it, but it's possible that some port ranges will not work either.

If your phone and computer are on the same network, local IP address and port should work fine.
When your phone is using data (not wifi) then you have to use the internet IP of your router, and make sure that the port is properly forwarded to your PC.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Trouble with android app at work

Postby jbs001 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:02 pm

Thanks Coolest.

I believe now I can monitor my home desktop via 3g/4g when on the road by using the routers external ip in the android app config.
All my fault, had been trying to use the machine ip address.
My test was to turn off the WiFi on the phone and add the desktop, but use the routers external ip address instead of the machines ip address. And it worked.

I will try again today with my laptop at work (a university network) to properly configure the app using 3g/4g because I think you are correct about the wireless connection being filtered.
I'm looking at a screen capture (taken yesterday at work) of the cmd ipconfig /all command and there are listed an IPv4 Address and Default Gateway Address that I neglected to try.
I believe I was only using the laptop ip address provided from some internet address detector, again thinking the app connects directly to the machine.
Am I heading in the right direction?
jbs001
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:45 am

Re: Trouble with android app at work

Postby jbs001 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:02 pm

Coolest,
In an attempt to connect core temp android app to my laptop at work i decided to see if the port was detectable over the internet.
After checking if port 5200 was open, while first loged into our universities wireless and second, "much faster wired" internet service, I found that neither alowed access to this port.
I guess we have a fairly restrictive firewall.

No worries though, my main rig at home is connected to the android app via 3g/4g and my home router's external ip, worked like a charm.

Thanks for your help.
jbs001
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:45 am

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest