Login | Register

Is CPU load average or instantaneous value.

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Is CPU load average or instantaneous value.

Postby photonblaster » Tue May 28, 2013 1:04 am

Setting polling interval to 1 sec same as task manager, the the two sort of track. However if you set polling to 10X/second, when not running anything zero load value quite often comes up, in fact more often than seems possible so that average of 10 readings matches task manager.

So exactly what is displayed for fast polling times...an instantaneous value or an average since the last pole value?
photonblaster
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:27 am

Re: Is CPU load average or instantaneous value.

Postby The Coolest » Tue May 28, 2013 4:45 pm

All load values are an average since the previous reading.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests