Login | Register

Checking in

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

Checking in

Postby tbirdcharlie » Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:19 pm

Just checking in, do not see a new release. Is it safe to install on AMD FX processor? Last time it gave out BSOD's on startup.
tbirdcharlie
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 2:16 am

Re: Checking in

Postby The Coolest » Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:51 pm

RC5 still BSODs. If you're using an earlier release, keep using it until the next one is available.
The new version improves on several things, which meant updates to most other Core Temp related software, so it may take some time until it's ready.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Checking in

Postby hax0rmort » Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:44 am

hey Coolest, where can i find rc4? i'm not seeing link anywhere on main page. did you hide it? (on a FX model atm)

edit: i googled "core temp rc4" all the results i found link to rc5.
hax0rmort
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:03 am

Re: Checking in

Postby Jorge » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:57 am

Is there a thread or warning notice somewhere on RC5 issues on FX processors with the BSOD? I did numerous searches and could not pull up any FX/RC5 issue threads.
Last edited by Jorge on Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jorge
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Checking in

Postby The Coolest » Sun Apr 21, 2013 12:08 pm

There are these two threads:
viewtopic.php?f=62&t=2447
viewtopic.php?f=62&t=2441
It seems like the bug affects only FX systems, but not every system is affected.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Checking in

Postby Jorge » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:16 pm

I am using Win 7 64-bit and RC5 on an FX-8350 system and I do occasionally also get the BSOD and error message on both cold boot and re-boot, but not always. I have the latest version of Core Temp Gadget installed and I thought perhaps Gadget was trying to launch before Core Temp itself had fully launched and this might cause a Windoze BSOD? This is just speculation by me but it would be worth knowing if other people experiencing BSODs also have Core Temp Gadget installed. I don't recall having the issue before installing Gadget but it may just be coincidence and totally unrelated?
Last edited by Jorge on Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jorge
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Checking in

Postby The Coolest » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:41 pm

No, this has nothing to do with the gadget. It's a bug in Core Temp's driver. A fix should be available in the next release.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Checking in

Postby tbirdcharlie » Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:52 pm

Thank you Coolest.

Having trouble finding an older version, so maybe that could be a suggestion for your a site a page to have older versions.
tbirdcharlie
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 2:16 am

Re: Checking in

Postby DK1981 » Wed May 01, 2013 7:12 pm

For all who are having trouble finding CoreTemp RC4 download here is a link for you! :)

http://www.majorgeeks.com/Core_Temp_1.0_RC4_d7258.html
DK1981
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: Checking in

Postby Jorge » Wed May 01, 2013 8:42 pm

My testing of "All CPU Meter" V3.2 also causes the same issue on the FX-8350 processors so Core Temp 4.0 may do so also?
Jorge
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Checking in

Postby The Coolest » Wed May 01, 2013 9:43 pm

All CPU Meter is just a gadget. It can't cause any of these issues.
I'm pretty sure that I mentioned it before, but this is a driver issue and it will be fixed in the next release.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Checking in

Postby Jorge » Thu May 02, 2013 2:08 am

Actually I have run back-to-back tests and "All CPU Meter" does in fact cause the issue. This surprised me also, but in A-B-A testing I could duplicate the BSOD/reboots and eliminate it by removing the gadget.

Yes I did read where you were aware of the issue with RC5 and that's why I mentioned my experience with the older version of Gadget on the FX processors. This does not occur with the exact same hardware using a Phenom II 965BE CPU instead of the FX-8350.
Jorge
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:40 pm

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests