Login | Register

General setup

A place to discuss topics related to Core Temp
  • Author
    Message

General setup

Postby tpm » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:43 pm

Hello
First time here. Question I have why is Core #2 always set to 95 degrees? Min and Max temp both at 95. Can this be adjusted and if so can someone easily explain how. I would appreciate it
I have a Gateway FX6710 with Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 (Yorkfield-6M)

Thanks
tpm
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:35 pm

Re: General setup

Postby The Coolest » Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:41 am

Could you please post a screenshot showing the problem?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: General setup

Postby tpm » Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:08 pm

Image

Hope this helps
tpm
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:35 pm

Re: General setup

Postby The Coolest » Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:42 pm

I think this can be a case of "sticky sensors" when the temperature reported by a sensor won't go below a certain value.
Try to run something CPU intensive and you will most likely see the temperature does go over 95F.
This is a common problem with Intel's 45nm Core 2 based processors, and I'm unaware of a way to fix it. On the other hand it isn't a critical problem as the sensors do work properly in the high temperature range, so there is no risk of overheating.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: General setup

Postby tpm » Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:03 pm

Ok just didn't know if there was a Bios setting or something else I was missing. It will be at 95 at start up as well. Also I changed my video card that was making noise at the fan. I thought my system was clean UNTIL I took the video card apart. It was caked in dust, dirt, whatever. Cleaned it up well, noise was better but wound up replacing the card. No noise now and the card is running much cooler. I also took of the CPU fan and found the heat sink caked as well. Who Knew. Anyhow all is good now
Thanks for the reply
tpm
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:35 pm

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests