Page 1 of 5

Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:50 pm
by The Coolest
This forum post will be used as a guide for setting up Core Temp Monitor on your Android or Windows Phone device and configuring Core Temp and the Remote Server plugin on your PC.

Preparing Core Temp
  1. Make sure that you have the latest version of Core Temp installed. (1.0 is the minimum requirement)
  2. Windows 8/2012 Server and later: Install .Net 3.5. Go to 'Turn Windows features on or off' (under Settings in the Start screen), tick .NET Framework 3.5 and click OK.
  3. Download Core Temp Remote Server.
  4. Open the folder where Core Temp is installed, create a 'plugins' folder if it doesn't exist and extract the zip file into a 'CoreTempRemoteServer' folder.
  5. Restart Core Temp, go to Tools, Plug-in manager and enable plug-ins.
  6. Select the plug-in and click Start, the status should change to 'Started'. You should be prompted to unblock Core Temp in Windows' Firewall, you must do it, or else it will block the server and you won't be able to connect.
    *If you wish to see the connection status of the server, or change the default listening port you can click 'Configure' now.
  7. Close the manager.

Linux users
  • This is a Beta version.
  1. Download Linux Core Temp Remote Server.
  2. Make sure that you have Mono installed with 'corlib2.0'. For the WindowGui you also need 'winforms2.0'.
  3. Install lm-sensors
  4. Configure lm-sensors and enable 'coretemp' for Intel processors, 'k8temp' or 'k10temp' for AMD processors and 'via-cputemp' for VIA processors
  5. Run the Gui of your choice and configure it, more information is in the 'readme.txt' file.

Preparing your router
  1. Most of us have a router which connects us to the internet. If you would like to monitor your PC from outside of your network, a port must be forwarded.
    There are plenty of guides on the internet about how to do it, it is usually a pretty straightforward procedure. The default port 'CoreTempRemoteServer' listens on is 5200.
    You must forward a port for every PC you want to monitor, the external port of each must be different. Most routers allow you to specify one external port and forward it to a different port internally.
    This way you can forward port 5200 --> 5200 for your Main PC and 5201 --> 5200 for your Gaming rig. You don't necessarily have to change the server's default listening port to get everything working on several PCs at once.
  2. Some have a static IP address from their ISP, this means that your external IP address never changes, you can simply use that as your 'Hostname' when configuring Core Temp Monitor.
    If your IP address is dynamic, there are plenty of dynamic DNS services out there that will provide you with a URL which redirects to your current IP address. After signing up you will need to configure your router to use this service.

Setting up Core Temp Monitor on your device

Android
  1. First of all you need Core Temp Monitor. You can get it at Google play.
    There are two versions available:
    The Lite version, which is free, includes an advert at the top and is limited to monitoring up to 2 machines.
    ctmlite.png
    ctmlite.png (1.04 KiB) Viewed 846042 times

    The Standard version, which only costs $0.99, doesn't contain any ads and supports an unlimited (in theory) number of machines.
    ctm.png
    ctm.png (1.03 KiB) Viewed 846042 times
  2. After you've selected your version and installed it, we need to add a new 'monitor'.
  3. Press the menu button and tap 'Add monitor'.
  4. Give this monitor a name, such as 'Gaming rig', 'Main', etc.
  5. Next you have to provide a host name or an IP address and the port used to connect to your machine.
  6. You can set the monitor to connect automatically when you start the app, and choose the fields that you wish to see in this monitor.
  7. Tap on save and you are done.

Windows Phone (Beta)
  • Please post your feedback and/or bug report for this app.
    There are currently two known bugs, please read this post.
  1. First of all you need Core Temp Monitor. You can get it at the Windows Phone Store.
    The trial version is free. It includes an advert at the bottom and is limited to monitoring up to 2 machines. If you buy the app, the ad and the monitor limit will be removed.
    ctm-wp.png
    ctm-wp.png (1.14 KiB) Viewed 574142 times
  2. With the app installed, we need to add a new 'monitor'.
  3. Tap the '+' button in the menu.
  4. Give this monitor a name, such as 'Gaming rig', 'Main', etc.
  5. Next you have to provide a host name or an IP address and the port used to connect to your machine.
  6. You can set the monitor to connect automatically when you start the app, and choose the fields that you wish to see in this monitor.
  7. Tap on save and you are done.

Using Core Temp Monitor
  1. After the app starts, you will see a collapsed list of 'monitors' we added in the previous section.
    Tapping a monitor will expand it and reveal a more detailed information about the system.
  2. Tap and hold a 'monitor' to open a menu, you can copy the status of your PC to the clipboard, configure or remove the monitor.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:44 pm
by suprimos
hey there...

thanks for the guide...
it worked for me...BUT....i can only use it if my smartphone is also logged in the same w-lan as my pc...

how can i connect to my pc from outside? (smartphone via UMTS etc.)....
i tried to type the ip my pc has on http://www.whatismyip.com/ ... but it wont connect

thx

Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:05 pm
by The Coolest
Read the preparing your router section.
You need to forward a port on your router, and then use your external ip and port in the app.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:18 pm
by suprimos
sorry...
i just forgot to mark the portfowarding entry in my router as active :mrgreen:

Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:51 pm
by The Coolest
Great!

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:15 pm
by xraider
A widget for this app would be awesome! Definitely something i would personally pay for!

Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:12 pm
by The Coolest
I think I looked into it before but it didn't work just right.
I'm new to Android but will give it another look. I'm still trying to decide whether to make an iOS app for this as well or not.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:25 am
by DJ_Datte
Heyas!

I am wondering, will there be a PC version of the monitor, it would be *really* sweet if I could monitor my network on a big screen with one line per computer ?

Thank you!

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:10 am
by The Coolest
At this point, I haven't considered a desktop client.
One may be developed and released sometime in the future, though.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:23 pm
by ecce
CoreTemp crasch right upon start on my win2k8 R2 x64 server if the remote plugin is in the plugins folder.If I remove the plugin the coretemp application starts just fine. Should it work on win2k r2 x64 platforms? If not, which platforms are compatible?

The server I use is just installed from scratch and nothing else is configured on it.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:55 pm
by The Coolest
You have to install .Net 3.5 from the server management or install .Net 4.0

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:34 pm
by Diablo2424
I have opened the port on my firewall successfully, however when I open coretemp I check the log of this plug-in and it says, "Starting Server, listening on 0.0.0.0:5200"

Is this b/c my Windows 7 PC is on a static IP? Why is it not recognizing my IP address? (I am on an IPv4 Address, not IPv6)

Note: When I try to connect on my Android phone, I get a "Connection failed: timeout" error, which makes sense since the plug-in is running the server on IP 0.0.0.0.

Any ideas?

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:43 pm
by The Coolest
IP address of 0.0.0.0 stands for Any IP.
The formulation of the text should state something like "Starting Server, accepting connections from Any IP, listening on port 5200".
In other words, what you see in the log is that everything is fine.
- Are you trying to connect from your WiFi or from 3g/4g? If your Android is connecting from your own WiFi, make sure that you use your computer's internal IP address (run ipconfig from the command line).
- In Windows, did you unblock Core Temp in the Windows Firewall (and any other FW you may have installed)?
- If it's 3g/4g, have you forwarded the port in your router?
- if it's 3g/4g, are you using the correct external IP address to connect?

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:01 pm
by Diablo2424
The Coolest wrote:IP address of 0.0.0.0 stands for Any IP.
The formulation of the text should state something like "Starting Server, accepting connections from Any IP, listening on port 5200".
In other words, what you see in the log is that everything is fine.
- Are you trying to connect from your WiFi or from 3g/4g? If your Android is connecting from your own WiFi, make sure that you use your computer's internal IP address (run ipconfig from the command line).
- In Windows, did you unblock Core Temp in the Windows Firewall (and any other FW you may have installed)?
- If it's 3g/4g, have you forwarded the port in your router?
- if it's 3g/4g, are you using the correct external IP address to connect?


Ahh okay, the text does say, word for word, "Starting server, listening on 0.0.0.0:5200" the next line says "Server started".

I am connecting over 3g, using the correct IP Address (also tried through my Dynamic DNS address I have and am currently using for RDP with no issues). I have forwarded port 5200 in my router for both TCP and UDP, and I do not have any other firewall's installed/enabled on my PC or network.

EDIT: Weird, for some reason I switched it to port 5201 and everything started working. Nothing changed except the port number, but magically it started working, lol. Oh well, as long as it's working! :D Thanks! I love the app, the only thing I can think of that would be nice, is if there was a Widget on my Android phone, so I could add the monitoring to one of my desktops and see it whenever I want to. (Should be able to set the updating in interval's, like every 10 mins, 20 mins, 30 mins, 45 mins, 1hr, 1.5 hrs, 2 hrs, 4 hrs or manually) :mrgreen:

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:01 am
by Jote
i think there should be "keep screen awake"-option. It would ease up usage during gaming.

Have you considered making OSD for Core temp? That would be very appreciated feature.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:20 am
by The Coolest
In the latest version of the app, there is such an option. Download it and take a look :)
An OSD is close to impossible to make. Several people (besides guys like Fraps) tried and it wasn't very successful.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:42 pm
by Jote
DX11 overlay is "intresting", so i've heard. Fraps and Rivatuner/Afterburner has one but are closed source. Guys working on Mumble are more or less close to solution.
https://github.com/mumble-voip/mumble/pull/28
http://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/mumbl ... ?f=5&t=549
http://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/mumbl ... ?f=4&t=523

I don't know how open source fits to Core Temp (propably doesn't).

I created nice offtopic....

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:38 am
by TekneeQ
Hi, thanks for the great app, I just have one problem. I am trying to run 2 pc's on the lite version, but one of them won't show up. I've made sure to open ports 5200 for one and 5201 for the other, but for some reason it the second one won't show up. Any ideas?

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:10 am
by The Coolest
What do you mean won't show up?
It doesn't connect or what? Also did you configure the server to listen on the 5201 port instead of 5200? Or you can also forward external port 5201to 5200 internal in your router instead of changing the plugins settings.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 pm
by jacobsol
TekneeQ wrote:Hi, thanks for the great app, I just have one problem. I am trying to run 2 pc's on the lite version, but one of them won't show up. I've made sure to open ports 5200 for one and 5201 for the other, but for some reason it the second one won't show up. Any ideas?


I've tried the same thing, but for 3 pc's. It works very well for me, although a lot of tweaking had to be done.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:48 am
by sonialondon
wow, thanks a lot for the wonderful software. I'm struggling with the same problem. I'm worried about my Notebook as it is burning. Wish It'll be helpful for me.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:19 am
by natsuto
I would like to 2 on a PC running the Lite version, but one of them will not appear. I have to open a 5201 port 5200 for other.

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:09 am
by Phoenixlee
Thanks for that, it's much appreciated!

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:31 am
by viktorz

Re: Core Temp Monitor

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:24 am
by zhenghan1019
Thank you for sharing!
:lol: