Page 1 of 1

Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:47 am
by pong
With Core Temp version 1.11 right after start, the clock frequency display is staying on maximum, instead of reflecting the changes of dynamic clocking.
This can be fixed by right clicking the icon and selecting "Refresh".
After that the dynamic changes are shown until the next start of Core Temp.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:53 pm
by The Coolest
What processor do you have?
Also, what happens if you right click the frequency label and select a different core.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:20 pm
by egkenny
Core Temp 1.11
CPU: Ryzen 1700X
MBD: ASUS Prime X370-Pro

I have similar issue. Clock frequency is stuck at maximum. If I hit refresh all cores change to a new value and is then stuck there. Actually the new value is the same but it only seems different because the bus speed dropped from 99.86 to 96.96.

Since I am using the "Balanced" Power option the cores should be dynamically changing from about 2200 to 3800 (core 0) and 2200 to 3400 (core 1-7)
=================================
Using Core Temp
Normal
3491.43 MHz (99.86 x 35.0)

Running Prime 95
3491.43 MHz (99.86 x 35.0)
=================================
Using Core Temp (after refresh)
Normal
3393.62 MHz (96.96 x 35.0)

Running Prime 95
3393.62 MHz (96.96 x 35.0)
=================================
Using HWiNFO64
Normal
Core 0:
2195.3 MHz to 3891.7 MHz
Core 1 to 7:
2195.3 MHz 3492.6 MHz

Running Prime 95
Core 0 to 7:
3492.8 MHz
=================================

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:03 pm
by pong
I have this phenomenon on severeal different Core 2 Duos and a Core 2 Quad Q9650.
Core Temp is set to start up minimized.
This computer I'm writing on is an Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 (Conroe).
A right click on the frequency display in the task bar only shows the menu with "Refresh, Show/Hide, Exit"
I still have to test the behaviour of the restored Core Temp window, when the task bar frequency is stuck.
In the restored window I have the option to select different cores when right clicking on the frequency display.

... done:

The frequency display in the restored window is staying on 3.0 GHz, too ("Highest" selected).
Selecting core 1 shows 3.0 GHz permanently.
Selecting core 2 shows dynamic frequencies between 2.0 and 3.0 GHz, as expected.
Selecting File => Refresh or pressing F5 makes the display of core 1 show varying frequencies, too, thus fixing the behaviour for both cores.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:24 pm
by The Coolest
@egkenny

You're right. Found the problem for the Ryzen, and it'll be fixed in the next update.

@pong

Thanks for the update, it helps. I have a couple of C2D systems, I'll try to reproduce the problem and fix it as well.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:36 am
by The Coolest
@pong

Thanks for catching this. I found the problem, and the next release should not have this problem.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:37 pm
by p1pkin
same problem here with latest 1.11 Core Temp
CPU: Intel Core i5 760 (Lynnfield)
MB: Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3

funny part - CT shows correct clock if and while CPU-Z run in background.

Re: Core Temp 1.11 clock changes not visible

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:06 pm
by The Coolest
It's an issue with Core 2 and the first generation of Core i processors.
It'll be fixed in the next update.
This problem occurs because Core Temp fails to properly initialize all of the performance counters in the CPU, and when a counter for a core doesn't work, the frequency is calculated as the maximum frequency. That's why it seems stuck in the UI. A refresh re-initializes the counters and then it starts to work correctly. CPU-z most likely uses the same counters, and so Core Temp doesn't have a problem when it's running.

Core Temp 1.11 showed wrong frequency

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:04 am
by weiliu
Dear developer, My cpu is E5450, I can set it on several different fequency below by some tools (e.g. CrystalCPUID), CORETEMP can show normal frequency on or before V1.10 version, But it showed incrrect frequency since v1.11 came. It showed incorrect 400x7.5=3.0G on 400x6,400X7,400x7.5, But it can show correct frequency on 400X8,400X8.5,400X9. But it can show correct frequency on 400x6,400X7,400x7.5 after software CPU-Z run, that's very strange. My operation system is WINDOWS XP-32Bit.Pls kindly look into and resolve. thanks.


400X6.5, 400X7, 400X7.5, 400X8,400X8.5,400X9

Re: Core Temp 1.11 showed wrong frequency

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:11 pm
by The Coolest
No need to open a new thread about the same problem mentioned already.
It'll be fixed in the next release.