Page 1 of 1

Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:19 am
by Naki
In latest WIndows 10 Pro 64-bit OS Insider Preview (of 2017 Fall Creators Update version), with latest AMD Radeon Vega Beta drivers - 17.30 version, from 7th of Aug 2017 - I am getting an issue where sometimes the window of the program does not properly minimize to the system Tray (notification area), showing in lower left corner instead. I have set Core Temp not to show in Windows Taskbar, as I have 2 monitors.

See screenshot. Please fix!

EDIT: Cancel the "sometimes" part. In fact it is always! I can make a video, if you want.
EDIT #2: It seems 1.10.1 version does not have the bug, so something is wrong with 1.10.2.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:40 am
by Naki
Bump. Any comments, please? Issue is still very much present. :(

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:00 pm
by The Coolest
I don't have the latest IP, and it works fine on my Creator's Update machines.
I'd like to blame windows, the code for this hasn't changed in close to a decade.
A window usually behaves like this when 'explorer.exe' is not running. I don't know how or why it'd start happening with the latest preview, unless it's some sort of glitch with their UI.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:36 am
by Naki
The Coolest wrote:I don't have the latest IP, and it works fine on my Creator's Update machines.
I'd like to blame windows, the code for this hasn't changed in close to a decade.
A window usually behaves like this when 'explorer.exe' is not running. I don't know how or why it'd start happening with the latest preview, unless it's some sort of glitch with their UI.

Nope. You cannot blame my Windows OS for this - Insider Preview or not.
Please note version .1 of Core Temp works fine, so you for sure broke something in .2 update.
Also, all of my other Windows programs work fine regarding this, so this is not any UI glitch here. I know you did some fixes for multiple windows showing recently, you broke this that way most likely, I believe.
I will be happy to Beta test any fix builds.

EDIT: If you are not willing to install Insider Preview on an actual PC, you can always easily install & use it on a Microsoft/VMware/Oracle/etc virtual machine for testing purposes.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:53 pm
by The Coolest
Interesting. I'll see what I can do about it.
But it won't be an immediate fix, unless it's something really obvious.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:32 am
by Naki
The Coolest wrote:Interesting. I'll see what I can do about it.
But it won't be an immediate fix, unless it's something really obvious.

Still there with latest 1.11 version too, and the previous ones as well - almost 3 months now since I wrote! :? Any chance for a fix, please?
For some reason, my 2nd PC side by side with this one and with same Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OS has no such issue.
I can make a video if you want and think it may help?

NOTE: The PC with problem has 3 monitors attached, with 1 of those usually disabled (so I can watch TV on it, it is an LG TV/monitor). All 3 monitors are 27" Full HD, 2 different Philips ones plus the 1 LG mentioned above.
PC number #2, which does not have this problem has 1 monitor attached.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:39 pm
by The Coolest
I don't know what causes this exactly, as I was not able to reproduce this problem.
It's possible that something broke because of the multiple monitors + switching between one of them and the TV, an incorrect value was written in the ini, causing this issue.
Could you please send me the ini you have right now? Maybe it'll help me reproduce and fix this issue.
Another user has reported the same issue on Windows 7. His solution was to uninstall and reinstall. My guess would be to delete the ini file when Core Temp is closed. Then see if it fixes it.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:57 pm
by Naki
INI file attached.

Deleting the INI file did help! :)

Could it be maybe moving from monitor 1 & 2 in Horizontal span (side by side) mode to Vertical, then back?
My 3 monitors - using mostly 2 at once - are all low-res, so when I have to test a window with larger vertical size, I need to set up my 2 monitors with Vertical span for just a short time.
(then I test whatever I need and change this back)

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:57 pm
by The Coolest
Code: Select all
SPX=3240;
SPY=374;

These values are where Core Temp tries to open the window when you start it. If you closed it in one monitor config, and then run it in a different one, it's possible that the window appears out of screen bounds.
I'll have to look at the code, because I think I had some guarding measures against this.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:07 pm
by Naki
Thanks!

Please note the values:
SPX=3240;
SPY=374;
seem both fine to me.
This would be slightly down from top of screen (SPY=374), and a bit to the right on the other axis (3240 -- so 1320 pixels from start of 2nd monitor, both monitors being with a Full HD resolution).

Is there any other INI value that could be "off"?

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:52 pm
by The Coolest
It depends on your monitor configuration.
I have 2 monitors side by side, and the left one has a negative position on the X axis. So in my case, X=3200 will be out of screen bounds, even if the total horizontal resolution is greater than this number.

Re: Bug with minimize to Tray

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:38 pm
by Naki
The Coolest wrote:It depends on your monitor configuration.
I have 2 monitors side by side, and the left one has a negative position on the X axis. So in my case, X=3200 will be out of screen bounds, even if the total horizontal resolution is greater than this number.

OKay, yes, thanks - I am aware of that. However my main monitor is always in the middle, 2nd one on the right.
My 3rd monitor is indeed on the left, but is usually disabled as it is a TV/monitor combo, used as TV most of the time. IF/when I use the 3rd monitor, I never move the Core Temp window to it.

I believe deleting the INI file changed/reset other values too. Unsure which ones are the culprit, but it does not seem to me the X & Y ones are, as they are quite the same now with/after INI file was deleted and still Core Temp minimizes fine now, whereas it did not before.