Login | Register

V1.8.1 - reports wrong Xeon processor

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

V1.8.1 - reports wrong Xeon processor

Postby Louiscar » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:49 pm

Hi,

I noticed that after replacing my i7 920 with a Xeon x5650 - an old version of Core temp 1.0 reported this as Xeon E5640.
I thought updating Coretemp would surely sort this out but after getting 1.8.1 it still reports it as E5640.

Cpu-Z, Windows 7 x64 and my Bios disagree - it's reported correctly.
Louiscar
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:23 pm

Re: V1.8.1 - reports wrong Xeon processor

Postby The Coolest » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:42 pm

Please post a screenshot and a register dump (Tools menu).
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: V1.8.1 - reports wrong Xeon processor

Postby Louiscar » Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:09 am

The Coolest wrote:Please post a screenshot and a register dump (Tools menu).


Hi, thanks for the reply - I just realised that something I did fools Coretemp into believing it's a different cpu.
In order to use one piece of software which doesn't like 6 core cpus, I had 2 cores disabled in Windows. This is the reason it reports the e5640 even though other utilities don't.

Once I enabled all 6 cores it reports the correct cpu - so .. I guess this isn't a bug nor something you'd want to bother correcting given not many people will be disabling cores. It just threw me off a bit.

regards

Louis
Louiscar
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:23 pm

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest