Login | Register

New Error - Memory usage increase

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby manuelcr » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:24 am

Hi,

I'm having a new error with CoreTempo since this morning. CoreTemp is using a lot of memory until Windows fails.

It seems to be relationed with this bug: http://www.alcpu.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=5709

This is my configuration:

i7 - 5820K
Windows 10 - Microsoft Windows [Versión 10.0.14393]
32GB RAM DDR4

Regards
Attachments
2016-11-20 11_29_12-Core  Temp memory error.png
2016-11-20 11_29_12-Core Temp memory error.png (43.35 KiB) Viewed 4059 times
manuelcr
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:46 am

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby marc0523 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:33 pm

Same Issue.
I have 8gb of Ram and the page file went up to 20gb before I killed the Core Temp process.

Win10 Anniversary edition. i5-2500K. Intel Z68 Chipset.
Everything was working when I turned my PC off on Saturday night, then all failed when I turned it back on the next day.
marc0523
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby 5899 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:54 pm

Yep! Same here. Just booted up my PC and BAM. 24GB of RAM gone because of Core Temp.
5899
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:53 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby 5899 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:55 pm

Same here. Booted my PC and didn't realize that my RAM usage is going up until I basically couldn't use my PC anymore. Rebooted and opened task manager quickly and there was core temp using all of my RAM.
5899
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:53 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby killyourpepe » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:56 pm

Same here. It happens to me from this morning, i try reinstalled previous version (RC1.3, RC1.4.1, RC 1.5) with the same issue.

I soved the problem changing AutoUpdateCheck from 1 to 0.

Windows 7 64bit
FX8350
16RAM


Srry for my english
User avatar
killyourpepe
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby comface » Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:07 pm

Same here. Happened on first boot today when coretemp began on startup.

Windows 7
i7-2600K
8Gb RAM DDR3
comface
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:31 pm

Hi everyone,

This problem seems to be shared mostly by Kaspersky users.
Disabling the automatic update check in Core Temp solves the issue, but I would like to ask you to notify Kaspersky about this problem as well.
I've tested Core Temp on multiple machines before launching it (and after this problem reared its head as well) and on my end everything was working fine.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby AKro1980 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:33 pm

I have the same problem. Has anybody a solution?
Last edited by AKro1980 on Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AKro1980
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:50 pm

Check the post above.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby jmccabe » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:06 pm

Same problem here, and I can confirm that I use Kaspersky. I'll try to see if I can set auto-update off.

EDIT:

Reinstalled and started CoreTemp but it filled my measly 3GB too quickly :-) Managed to catch it on the reboot though, edited the ini file, and a restart works ok.

EDIT2:

I've reported this through My Kaspersky and they've given me a request number (INC000006983325). In the meantime, if there's anything you'd like to try to see if you can track down the source of the issue, please let me know.
jmccabe
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 3:53 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby necrogeddon » Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:26 pm

Same here, windows 10, i7 5820k, turned it on this morning and coretemp was eating all 32gb of my memory. Really frustrating, I had to format my ssd cause the whole system was crashing constantly. Bad experience
necrogeddon
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:36 pm

necrogeddon:
I'm sorry to hear about the troubles, but somehow this problem affects previous versions as well, which never had an issue, so this isn't something Core Temp is directly responsible for.
I suggest you complain to Kaspersky as well.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby necrogeddon » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:43 pm

The Coolest wrote:necrogeddon:
I'm sorry to hear about the troubles, but somehow this problem affects previous versions as well, which never had an issue, so this isn't something Core Temp is directly responsible for.
I suggest you complain to Kaspersky as well.

yeah, I also run kaspersky. I formated my ssd because the behaviour of the system was the same as being affected by a nasty virus or something and core temp exe wouldnt stop running. I just updated to ct 1.5
necrogeddon
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:48 pm

I'm installing Kaspersky right now to see if I can recreate this problem and find the bug in my code which causes this to happen.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby The Coolest » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:21 am

Just an update, I sent everyone who posted in this thread a PM with a potential fix, please see if the new build gets rid of the memory leak runaway problem.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby marc0523 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:45 am

Also have Kaspersky.
I didn't try changing the ini file so I cant say if that would have worked.

The updated version that was PM'd to me worked, no more problems.
marc0523
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby bi0log » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:39 pm

The Coolest wrote:Just an update, I sent everyone who posted in this thread a PM with a potential fix, please see if the new build gets rid of the memory leak runaway problem.

I'd like to test the update too plz.
bi0log
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:29 am

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby killyourpepe » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:10 pm

The Coolest wrote:Just an update, I sent everyone who posted in this thread a PM with a potential fix, please see if the new build gets rid of the memory leak runaway problem.


The update works perfectly on my system. Ty for the fix.
User avatar
killyourpepe
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby johnjohn9838 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:10 pm

Just FYI, I'm another user with this problem (also have Kaspersky).
johnjohn9838
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby Ronbser63 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:17 pm

The Coolest wrote:Just an update, I sent everyone who posted in this thread a PM with a potential fix, please see if the new build gets rid of the memory leak runaway problem.

I also have the same problem with Core Temp 1.5 and Kaspersky. I've disabled the update-function, but would like to get the fix. Thank´s
Ronbser63
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby TripleZero » Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:23 pm

What a shitty bug. I was this close to reinstalling windows because i couldnt figure out the source... Then i looked at RAM usage.

Everything was slow and sluggish after boot, then my screen went black for half a minute and half my programs had crashed with obscure error messages when it came back.

Changing auto-update fixed it. Also a kaspersky user.

EDIT: Thanks for the link. New update fixed it.
Last edited by TripleZero on Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TripleZero
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby AKro1980 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:30 pm

The Update to Version 1.5.1 works fine!
AKro1980
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby 5899 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:07 pm

@The Coolest
I wasn't able to reply via a message so I have to do it here. I tried the new Core Temp you sent me (and enabled AutoUpdate) and it seems to be working fine. I'll try a few more things and will edit my post.

EDIT: Yep. Couldn't reproduce the bug.
5899
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:53 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby killyourpepe » Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:21 pm

I want to thank you once again, the update has not presented any problems since this morning, 6 hours aprox, I hope you can soon release the version for 64bit.
User avatar
killyourpepe
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: New Error - Memory usage increase

Postby marc0523 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:16 pm

So the new version fixed the memory problems but the day after I got a new issue.
OS: Windows 10 Anniversary Edition. Kaspersky Installed.

My PC locked completely, as in num lock light would not change lockup, when I ran the Microsoft Maps app.
Rebooted and tried a different Windows account, no problems.
Reproduced issue many times.
The issue has gone away now I have removed Core Temp folder in program files.
Maps is again working.

Any ideas?
Last edited by marc0523 on Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
marc0523
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:26 pm

Next

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests