Login | Register

Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPUs

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPUs

Postby Vulpix » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:30 pm

Hi!

I guess since they're quite new, this is to be expected. I have a pentium J4205-based board. Is there something I can share with you to help you support this platform?

Thanks!
Vulpix
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby The Coolest » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:42 pm

Hi,
The next release should support these chips, but just to confirm, if you could send post a screenshot and a register dump, it would be very helpful.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby Vulpix » Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:14 am

Sure.

CoreTemp-Scr.png
CoreTemp-Scr.png (15.26 KiB) Viewed 1457 times


Also great to hear they'll be supported :)
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(60.9 KiB) Downloaded 58 times
Vulpix
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby The Coolest » Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:43 pm

Perfect, thanks.
Looks like these chips will be using the same way of detecting clock speed as the Skylake generation of processors.
I've added the required code to add support for this for Atoms and it'll be included in the next update.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby Vulpix » Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:10 pm

Yeah, the goldmont/apollo lake is pretty much "budget skylake", after all.

Thanks! You're the best. Or I mean, you're the coolest, ha! :D
Vulpix
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby Vulpix » Sun Nov 20, 2016 4:33 am

Hi!

I just got an update for CoreTemp, but it's still showing wrong clock speeds :o

Also, the update said 1.5.1 but the version it pointed me to was 1.5. Is there something wrong?
Vulpix
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:13 am

I just double checked, here's what the update notification showed me when I ran 1.4.1:
Image
So that part is fine.
Could you please upload a screenshot + reg dump from the new version? It's possible that these chips use a different method I'm not aware of. I tested it on Kaby Lake, and the Skylake method did actually work correctly, not sure what's wrong with the Goldmont core.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Clock detection fails for Goldmont/Apollo lake Intel CPU

Postby Vulpix » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:39 pm

Hi!

It's possible I was mistaken and I don't have the old binary anymore, so the update part is fine.

Anyway, here are your goodies from 1.5.
CoreTemp-Scr.png
CoreTemp-Scr.png (16.77 KiB) Viewed 1438 times


and the dump
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(61.24 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
Vulpix
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:52 am

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests