Login | Register

1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:07 pm

I have a retina MacBook Pro Core i7 (Late 2013) (MacBookPro11,3 / A1398), running Windows 10 Pro x64

This has a Mobile Core i7 "Haswell/Crystalwell" I7-4850HQ processor. When I upgraded to RC9 from RC8 (where everything had been working perfectly AFAICT), the software immediately consumed essentially all available RAM and pegged one of the CPU cores. This causes the system to become unresponsive, requiring a force shutdown. Uninstalling (must boot into Safe Mode to do so) causes the problem to go away.

This happens both when running W10 natively and also when running in my Parallels VM. Halp!
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:08 pm

Should say also that I tried uninstalling w/ removal of settings and reinstalling, but the problems do persist.
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby The Coolest » Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:44 am

I have done some more work on the driver, hopefully the next release will solve this problem once and for all.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby The Coolest » Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:43 am

@cgtyoder
Please check your PMs.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Fri Jul 08, 2016 2:45 pm

v 1.1 seems to have fixed the problem - thanks!
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:13 pm

version 1.4.1 is again sucking up all available RAM (and crashing the PC if I don't kill the process in time).

Windows 10 Pro x64, version 1607
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:04 pm

Well, I saw the problem on a PC running an older version of Core Temp (1.3.1), so it must have been some Windows update which broke functionality. Hopefully you can reproduce this in W10 and figure out what's happening.
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby The Coolest » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:45 pm

This is an unrelated issue, it mostly affects Kaspersky users, it will be fixed in an update very soon.
Pretty much every recent version is affected, so the recommendation will be to update to the new (1.5.1) version or disable the automatic check for updates in Core Temp.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: 1.0 RC9 consumes all available RAM; pegs core

Postby cgtyoder » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:59 pm

Indeed, I do use Kaspersky Internet Suite! Glad to hear of a workaround.
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests