Login | Register

Windows 10/High-DPI Displays

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Tray icon scaling on high DPI screens

Postby stormi » Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:11 pm

Can you please add DPI scaling to future releases?
My tablet display is set to 150% in Windows and with the default values, the text/numbers for the tray icons looks tiny. I changed the font size to a bigger value, however when I connect my tablet to my desktop monitor (with 100% scaling), the font size is too big to fit in the tray icon:

Unbenannt.png
Unbenannt.png (25.23 KiB) Viewed 2413 times
stormi
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:24 am

Re: Tray icon scaling on high DPI screens

Postby The Coolest » Sat Mar 26, 2016 2:05 am

That's interesting. What happens if you restart Core Temp after the DPI has changed.
I took a quick look at the code to confirm this, but at least at Core Temp's start up it should take DPI into consideration when creating the notification area icons.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Tray icon scaling on high DPI screens

Postby stormi » Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:49 am

OK, now I know what actually happens.

It seems that the scaling generally works when changing the display configuration or scaling setting 'live' (though the text looks pixelated after, but that seems to be more a general problem of Windows).

However as soon as I restart Windows, the text will be too small or too big. When I look into the Core Temp settings, it seems like it (unnecessarily) adjusts the font size after a restart to a smaller or bigger value based on the display scaling.
No matter the display scaling I use, with my selected font a font size of 14 will always fit perfect for the tray icons. But when I change the scaling from 100% to 150% and do a restart of Windows, the font size automatically changes to 10 (or to 21 the opposite way [150% -> 100%]) resulting in a too small or too big text.
stormi
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:24 am

Windows 10/High-DPI Displays

Postby cgtyoder » Thu Jun 02, 2016 6:13 pm

Running Core Temp 1.0 RC8 in Windows 10 Pro x64 build 1511.

I am using a (retina) MacBook Pro, and when I change the DPI to take advantage of the high-DPI features of W10, the font size of the temps in the System Tray shrinks drastically. W10 says I am running at 2880x1800 - all other text looks great in Windows 10. Any idea when CT will fully support high-DPI screens?
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Windows 10/High-DPI Displays

Postby The Coolest » Thu Jun 02, 2016 10:02 pm

I would suggest trying to restart Core Temp after you adjust the DPI setting.
If the fonts are still small, go into Settings --> Notification area and set a new font size that will look good to you at the new, high DPI setting.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Windows 10/High-DPI Displays

Postby cgtyoder » Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:01 pm

Thanks for the suggestion. This works - sort of. When I switch between using Win 10 on bare hw and running it in a VM, the font size changes. I would prefer not to have to change the size each time I switch. It would be great if the app could account for high-dpi settings on its own. Thanks for considering.
cgtyoder
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Windows 10/High-DPI Displays

Postby The Coolest » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:56 am

I know that this has been a long standing issue, and I was able to look into it tonight.
Sadly, the amount of work required in addition to the amount of potential issue such a fix may bring to everyone makes this something I won't be able to tackle any time soon.
I will keep this issue on my to do list, though, and when I find a way and the time to implement proper DPI awareness, it will be fixed.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests