Login | Register

CoreTemp freezes under heavy load.

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

CoreTemp freezes under heavy load.

Postby kasper93 » Sat May 28, 2016 11:45 am

Hi,

CoreTemp tends to freeze when CPU is under load. Do you think there is room for improvement here? I suspect that freezes are caused by data gathering, maybe it could be possible to make it more robust?

Screen for reference: https://www.dropbox.com/s/enzwzo4a7kejqt1/coretemp.png
kasper93
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:30 pm

Re: CoreTemp freezes under heavy load.

Postby The Coolest » Sat May 28, 2016 12:09 pm

Core Temp is normally set with 'Normal' priority by default, this will prevent it from slowing down the PC during normal operation and locking up if there is some sort of problem.
Applications such as LinX put a massive load on the CPU, and also run with normal priority. This can indeed cause some issues.
The simple workaround for this, which will mostly fix this, is to simply give Core Temp a higher priority than LinX via Task Manager.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests