Login | Register

Problem with Win10 and older games

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby stormi » Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:31 am

Sorry, it's me again.
I have another issue with Core Temp RC8 and Windows 10.

When Core Temp is running with some older games, after starting them (in fullscreen), Core Temp always forces back to the desktop (the game keeps running minimized/in the background). When switching back to the game it again instantly forces back to the desktop. Without Core Temp running there's no such problem.

I have another device running on Windows 8 without this problem. I don't know if that's caused by Windows 10 or just my configuration.

Booth are mobile devices running on Intel Core CPUs with integrated graphics and recent graphic drivers.
stormi
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:24 am

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby The Coolest » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:54 pm

That's odd, first time I hear of this issue.
Make sure that you don't have Core Temp set to be 'Always on top'.
Minimize the program before you run the games.
What games are those? I can try this on my Win10 system, which also runs a mobile Intel core CPU.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby xraale » Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm

Ok, I can confirm this bug. I've been having it ever since I upgraded to Windows 10 and it has been driving me mad until I finally found out that CoreTemp is causing it.

It's nothing to do with older games. To reproduce:

- Use Windows 10, CoreTemp running and minimised.
- Have a "Change the size of text and other items" at >100%. This is the DPI.
- Open a full screen game that has a *lower resolution* screenmode.

The screen will open, get kicked back to desktop, then refuse to switch back to the game again. Usually the only way is to use the task manager to kill the game. This doesn't happen on all games - DOOM 4 is fine, XCOM 2 and Rome: Total War are not.

If you set the DPI to 100%, then the bug does not occur. Same if you open the game and it has the same screenmode.

I'm pretty sure this has something to do with CoreTemp's taskbar icon and the DPI switch. When a full screen game opens in Windows 10, it changes the desktop resolution to the game's resets the DPI to 100%. For some reason, this screws up something in Win10's screen opening.
xraale
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:01 pm

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby Naki » Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:38 am

xraale - what exact videocard brand & model do you use - AMD Radeon or Nvidia GeForce, what model?
What version of GeForce or AMD Radeon video drivers?
Might be driver issue.
Naki
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Eastern Europe

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby xraale » Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:27 pm

Naki wrote:xraale - what exact videocard brand & model do you use - AMD Radeon or Nvidia GeForce, what model?
What version of GeForce or AMD Radeon video drivers?
Might be driver issue.


I have an AMD Radeon R9 390. I'm using 16.7.3 Crimson software.

I've had the issue as long as I've had Windows 10 - I thought it was a bug in Windows 10 until I got so annoyed one day I disabled everything and tried disabling everything and enabling it one at a time. That's how I found it it was CoreTemp that was doing it.
xraale
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:01 pm

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby The Coolest » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:18 am

I finally setup a Win10 (Anniversary Update) machine I can run tests on, although it only has an Intel iGPU.
I'll try to reproduce what you mentioned, and see if I can get a hold of those games you are talking about.
Could you please list all the games you encountered this problem with?

Now here's a question: Do you guys happen to have logging enabled in Core Temp?
Try turning it off and then see if this problem persists. It's possible that there is some sort of weird interaction between Core Temp and the way the game keeps focus, it's also possible that an AV software could be involved as well.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Problem with Win10 and older games

Postby The Coolest » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:22 pm

@xraale
I have a 1680x1050 monitor connected to a PC running i3 540 using its built in graphics.
I set DPI to 125%, game to 1280x800, Core Temp minimized and even with logging on.
Then I launched Rome: Total War and it fired right up and is working fine without being kicked out anywhere.
I'm not sure what the issue is. As I mentioned in my previous post it might be some sort of conflict between several pieces of software.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests