Login | Register

Core Temp reporting in-correct Clock Frequency

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Core Temp reporting in-correct Clock Frequency

Postby KenMar » Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:38 am

Hi,

Been using Core Temp for a few years now and recently changed from a HP Envy 17 to Toshiba Satellite P70-A 17.3" laptop.

On the Envy 17, Core Temp reported correctly, but on the Toshiba, all seems correct except for the Clock Frequency that always displays close to 3392Mhz (100x34) even with CPU usage at about 0-1%.

Image

Any suggestions, have attached a pic showing 3 different gadgets?

Cheerz :) :D ;)
KenMar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:07 am

Re: Core Temp reporting in-correct Clock Frequency

Postby The Coolest » Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:55 am

I can't say what frequency the other gadget is reporting, but what you see in Core Temp is the highest frequency out of all 4 cores in the CPU.
You can open 'System information' in Core Temp's Tools menu and keep an eye on each core's individual effective frequency.
The difference between 0-1% load is marginal and isn't an issue.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Core Temp reporting in-correct Clock Frequency

Postby KenMar » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:24 am

Hi,

What it finished up being was Power Plan setting in Advanced Power Settings. Have a Samsung 850 EVO SSD, I selected PERFORMANCE with Samsung Magician and CoreTEMP showed CPU Frequency as being 3292 to 3392MHz, nothing lower.

As soon as I changed Power Plan to BALANCED, CPU Frequency shows a minimum of 792 to maximum 3392MHz depending on CPU load.

Doing a bit more searching on your forum, I did see that you posted similar reason some time back.

Cheerz :) :D ;)
KenMar
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:07 am

Re: Core Temp reporting in-correct Clock Frequency

Postby The Coolest » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:39 am

Indeed, glad to hear that you figured out the problem.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron