Login | Register

Core Temp has stopped responding crash bug

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Core Temp has stopped responding crash bug

Postby wellen1981 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:44 pm

I did try and post on similar threads but they had no replies and I did pop by the Live Chat a few times to try and catch you Coolest.

A previous user had a crash/bug with Core Temp not responding crash and the thread fizzled out after you asked them for info to try and solve this issue.

I wonder if you would be kind enough to look into this again as I have the exact same issue.

The reason may be due to the fact my CPU is the Xeon W3550 quad core with HT @ 3.06GHz

Main reason for my interest is so that I can use the core temp android app.

Not only am I willing to help out by providing any dumps etc you need to be able to look into this but there will be a donation due for your efforts of course!

EDIT: going into the .ini and changing the autoupdate to 0 resolves the crash at startup.
wellen1981
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:10 pm

CoreTemp.ini is Access Denied

Postby Michel Merlin » Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:35 pm

wellen1981 wrote:EDIT: going into the .ini and changing the autoupdate to 0 resolves the crash at startup.

In my Windows 7 64bit Pro, where I accepted default, Core Temp is installed in:
C:\Program Files\Core Temp

where I do have a CoreTemp.ini file (1,334 Bytes), that does have a line:
AutoUpdateCheck=0;

but when, after changing this to "AutoUpdateCheck=1;", I try to save the file, I am replied "Access denied". Could you explain more precisely how you changed that? TIA,

Versailles, Tue 22 Sep 2015 19:35:25 +0200
Michel Merlin
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:17 pm

Re: Core Temp has stopped responding crash bug

Postby The Coolest » Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:54 pm

To be able to manually change settings in Program Files, you must take ownership of the file you want to modify.
Go to the file's properties, Security, click Advanced, and Owner tab. Add your user to the list and ok the changes. Should work.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests