Login | Register

Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby mpgioia » Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:52 am

equysis wrote:Hello everyone, I just want to say hi, and at the same time let you know that I had issues on Coretemp freeze In windows 8 and 8.1, or the temperature not displaying properly on status bar or any sidebar gadget, I was able to make it work by installing Netframework 3.5 under programs and features, you click in turn windows features on or off, and then checkbox the first option on the top where it says .NET Framework 3.5 (includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0), then just let it download the files from windows update and reboot, and see if it helps your issues with Coretemp and your Gadgets, in my case I use All Cpu Meter and it does show the actual core temperatures on each core.

I hope this helps anyone in the future.


Regards


Equysis


Interesting... this worked for me also...
mpgioia
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby mpgioia » Thu Apr 23, 2015 1:05 am

mpgioia wrote:
equysis wrote:Hello everyone, I just want to say hi, and at the same time let you know that I had issues on Coretemp freeze In windows 8 and 8.1, or the temperature not displaying properly on status bar or any sidebar gadget, I was able to make it work by installing Netframework 3.5 under programs and features, you click in turn windows features on or off, and then checkbox the first option on the top where it says .NET Framework 3.5 (includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0), then just let it download the files from windows update and reboot, and see if it helps your issues with Coretemp and your Gadgets, in my case I use All Cpu Meter and it does show the actual core temperatures on each core.

I hope this helps anyone in the future.


Regards


Equysis


Interesting... this worked for me also...


Cancel that.. still creeping..

Just trying to provide feedback for all.. sorry for SPAM...
mpgioia
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby bi0log » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Today was the second time RC7 freezed Windows 8.1
It is not a total freeze like RC6 did.
This time Core Temp occupies RAM.
I've seen this before on another laptop.

The PC almost hangs, mouse can stop responding for some time.
If you are lucky enough to kill CoreTemp process in Task Manager, everything return to normal state.
Attachments
123.png
123.png (244.87 KiB) Viewed 7166 times
bi0log
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:29 am

Intel Core M-5Y71

Postby Shadowdane » Thu May 07, 2015 2:43 am

Tried running Core Temp on my new laptop.. it pegs the CPU at 100% and hard locks my entire system after about 15-20 seconds. Running Windows 8.1 64-bit and using 64-bit version of Core Temp 1.0 RC6.

I did manage to somehow get a Dump file from CoreTemp before it hard locked... not sure why that is happening. Only happens with CoreTemp... cpu-z works fine with it.

Not sure if it helps at all, but grabbed a dump from cpu-z as well.. it seems to have a lot more info which might help get support on this CPU.



Thanks!!!
Attachments
cpuz-Dump.txt
cpu-z Dump
(88.04 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
Core Temp - Dump
(31.31 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
Shadowdane
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:39 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby sinesium » Fri May 29, 2015 6:40 am

In my case after repleace CPU from i5-4670 to i7-4770K CoreTemp freezes Windows 8.1 64
On my other machines ( i7-4770 , 2x XEON5650 ) works perfectly fine.

Maybe there is a problem with ulocked "K" CPUs ?
Mine "K" is not overclocked.
sinesium
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby sinesium » Fri May 29, 2015 1:44 pm

I am unable to post PMs.
So I decided to reply on board.
RC7 works FINE!
sinesium
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby xious » Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:29 pm

I so in w 8.1 x64 operating system where I can download the version CR7 freezes

gracias
xious
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:07 pm

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby xerces8 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:53 pm

Hi!

As this issue is almost 2 years old now, how come that:
- it is not mentioned anywhere? Not on the front page, on the download page (OK, this is the front page), not in the release notes, not in the packaged Readme.txt or Changes .txt, or even the FAQ
- it is not fixed? At least a hint to the RC7 should be mentioned somewhere next to the RC6 download
- if no RC7 then at least a link to RC5?

Does this issue only affect a few number of 64 bit Windows systems?

Regards,
David
xerces8
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:35 pm

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby Ripio Suelto » Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:48 pm

Dear Mr. Temp:
Sorry for my English. I write short so that the translator not corrupt phrases (My second nick when I write in english should be Ugly Googly).
I like CoreTemp. I bought the app for the smartphone and I'm very satisfied with it.
CoreTemp worked very well in Windows 7. It also worked very well in W8.1 for some months... until stopped. Freeze and crash (on 2 different machines, desktop and notebook).
My pc runs high OC and monitoring is vital for me.
Solution: RC7
Everything works perfectly (including the plugin for smartphone app).
But it has a bug. This version doesn’t load at Windows startup. It's a hassle start manually each time. So, I made a little script, I compiled it as .exe and I put that thing in startup folder. Now CoreTemp starts with the system.
Many people have this problem, so this information should be visible before download link.
We all hope a RC7 fully functional to continue using this great application running without errors.
Good luck with that.
Windows 8.1 x64 - 4770k @4.6 Ghz, Maximus Hero VI, etc.
User avatar
Ripio Suelto
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:21 pm

core temp 1.00 RC6 not working on win8.1 and 10

Postby darkdarkdrag0n » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:49 pm

core temp 1.00 RC6 not working on win8.1 and 10
when i install it on windows 8.1 or windows 10 it causes the system to lock-up an stop responding an i have to press reset on the pc case an then i have to quickly uninstall core temp before it runs after reboot to get the pc working right again
please update core temp to fix this bug
darkdarkdrag0n
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:40 pm

Windows 10 lock up everytime in intel N3150

Postby seb6000 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:19 pm

hello

I have win10 64bit home installed on a

ASRock BEEBOX N3150/B Intel N3150/ WiFi/ A&GbE/ PC Barebone System

Mfr Part Number: BEEBOX N3150/B
Memory: 16GB
CPU: Intel N3150 Processor (Up to 2.08 GHz, Quad-Core)
Chipset: Intel N3150 SoC

Link on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/191661583534?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

every time I open up coretemp it takes over my system, boggs it, locks up, task manager has no control to shut it down.
Its a real piece of shit now on win10, but it worked well on all my other o/s computers

is there a fix or update on this!!!!!

thanks for da help peeps
seb6000
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 64bit

Postby end » Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:47 pm

Also get the random freeze after making changes to the program on windows 8.1 64 bit.
Now since windows 10 64 bit it locks up computer when it loads after making changes 100%% of the time i just .
end
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:44 pm

CoreTemp broke my computer, STAY AWAY

Postby AuroraUnit117 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:28 am

So, like many other users on here, my computer started freezing after boot ups and sleep awakes for a few weeks, and coretemp would freeze as well and show everything at a 100 percent, figured it was an issue with windows 10...until the last freeze; when CoreTemp froze my computer during a windows update. And yes, you guessed it! It bricked my computer, corrupted my hard drive because it crashed during an reboot cycle . I lost data and had to re install windows as well as buy a new hard drive.

So i installed coretemp again, thinking it was the hard drive that was the problem...nope. Coretemp kept freezing my computer. Deleted that garbage and my computer has worked flawlessly since.

So i ask the creator of this, why is this still available if its causing such wide spread problems? You should fix your damn gadget before other peoples computers get bricked. Take it down instead of letting peoples computers freeze and crash. Because none of this is worth knowing what the damn temperature is
AuroraUnit117
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:09 am

Freezing with Win 10

Postby msuguy71 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:31 am

Hi,

I am experiencing a system freeze with a few minutes after CoreTemp RC6 starts in Windows 10, which ultimately requires a hard reset. I have tried various compatibility settings, running it as administrator, and disabling the automatic updates without success. Is this being addressed in a future release or has development stopped on CoreTemp?

Thanks,

Rick
---
Intel i7 4790K watercooled w/ Corsair H110GTi
Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
32GB Kingston HyperX Savage DDR3 2400mhz Ram
MSI R9 390 8GB
Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 256GB SSD
Crucial BX200 480GB SSD
Toshiba 5TB HD
LG 27" IPS monitors x 3
Windows 10 Pro
msuguy71
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:01 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby vrapp » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:41 pm

Me too, in Windows 10 x64. Soon after it starts, the system dramatically slows down. Yesterday it was somewhat different - it did not slow down but suddenly quietly rebooted.
vrapp
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:39 pm

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby The Coolest » Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:19 pm

Hi guys,
This problem IS RESOLVED in the upcoming version, and it will be released very soon. (upcoming days)
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby Hartge » Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:20 am

Same problem wit Win7 64bit

Start Core Temp and app Crash, before all work fine no problem.
Today not work. Try re install, new version, not work.

Solution?
Hartge
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:17 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby The Coolest » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:04 am

Does Core Temp crash or Windows?
Also a full error report would be nice.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby mpgioia » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:05 am

The Coolest wrote:Does Core Temp crash or Windows?
Also a full error report would be nice.

I ... like I think everyone else... has CoreTemp go wildly out of control consuming RAM to no end when an update is evoked.. until Windows has no commit bytes to run on.
Right everyone ?
mpgioia
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby The Coolest » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:21 am

That is indeed the problem described in this thread.
I've sent you a PM, please take a look.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby mpgioia » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:32 am

Brilliant ! Looking forward to your latest build then !
Great work !
mpgioia
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby mpgioia » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:39 am

mpgioia wrote:Brilliant ! Looking forward to your latest build then !
Great work !


Der... Just noticed RC8 is already published and available for download.
And confirmed. Update no longer fires cyclic memory creep. Resolved.. Nice work.
mpgioia
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby Hartge » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:17 pm

The Coolest wrote:Does Core Temp crash or Windows?
Also a full error report would be nice.


Core temp crash! Core temp not work many user.

Core temp delete, problem solved.
Maybe later try again :/
Hartge
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:17 am

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby The Coolest » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:21 pm

Please read my reply here: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=5653
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Coretemp RC6 Freezes Windows 8 and 10

Postby meimeiriver » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:41 am

I'm having the same freezing problem on Win 10 Pro. Installed the latest CoreTemp, a few days ago, and start noticing explorer starts to hang at time (like freezing for 10 secs or so). Noticed it on other apps too (like Outlook), but I reckon that's probably related to explorer too (what isn't, really).

Since explorer.exe is an integral part of Windows, of course, sadly that means I can't use CoreTemp any more.
Also, after I installed CoreTemp, Windows was suddenly unable to connect my network drives on startup. There's definitely something interfering.

(P.S. What is with this 'waiting for a moderator to approve' thingy?! That tends to slow down communication significantly)
meimeiriver
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:36 am

PreviousNext

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest