Login | Register

Incorrect CPU model (Intel Core i7 4820K)

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Incorrect CPU model (Intel Core i7 4820K)

Postby alcpu-no-nick-name » Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:36 pm

Since (at least) version 1.6 wrong CPU name.
Core tremp shows "Ivy Bridge-EP" which denotes a Xeon processor.
But this is a plain "Ivy Bridge-E" !

Already sent you a register dump per e-mail in MARCH 2017 - we now have 25. June 2017.
Version 1.8.1 has same problem.

NO reaction from your side.

BAD.

Have a nice day anyway ...
alcpu-no-nick-name
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:40 am

Re: Incorrect CPU model (Intel Core i7 4820K)

Postby The Coolest » Sat Jul 01, 2017 2:57 am

This will be fixed in the next release.
Although I'm not sure what's the huge deal about it is...
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2925
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Incorrect CPU model (Intel Core i7 4820K)

Postby alcpu-no-nick-name » Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:47 am

thanks for the fix

it's a giant deal

having several rigs (Workstations and PCs) it is somewhat difficult to check which cpu/core is where and what ...

hope your temp readings are not also considered as no big deal - if they where wrong ?

such answers from the development (?) team are just "great" !

we will be nice here and sort of just say thanks again

and we assure you: we will never ever again point something out to ALCPU ...
alcpu-no-nick-name
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:40 am

Re: Incorrect CPU model (Intel Core i7 4820K)

Postby Naki » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:56 am

There is no need to get so angry. Please note the author provides the program for free, which is not an easy task!
For example: Author had to pay over $2000 recently (IIRC the exact amount, maybe a bit more), for a 3 (??) year digital signature to comply with Windows 10 UEFI Secure Boot clean/fresh install driver digital signing requirements.
And you and everybody else using the program paid exactly nothing of that.

Any feedback helps, so do write again, should you have issues! :-)
Naki
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Eastern Europe

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron