Login | Register

Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Post about bugs you find in Core Temp so they can be addressed and fixed efficiently
  • Author
    Message

Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:35 am

Power usage on Intel 6800K is not reported correctly. They must have changed something with the 6800K-6950K series, since even the Intel Power gadget reports it wrong.

Both Core Temp and the Intel tool reports it as less than 1w being used, but the TDP is reported correctly.

This is on a Asus X99 Strix Gaming motherboard, and their software reports the Watt correctly.

Not sure if there is any other specific information that you might need, but I am happy to try to provide it if so.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:31 am

Could you please attach a screenshot and a register dump (Tools menu)?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:51 am

Here they are:
6800k Core Temp Wrong Power.jpg
6800k Core Temp Wrong Power.jpg (56.78 KiB) Viewed 2670 times
Attachments
6800k CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(189.74 KiB) Downloaded 64 times
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:50 pm

This is interesting. I see nothing wrong with my code, which is also confirmed by the Intel applet being wrong as well.
There was some sort of change which is either undocumented or is a bug, it seems that the Haswell-EP has the same problem:
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=5744
Do you have the latest version of Intel's app to see if it makes any difference to the readings? Sadly I can't see anything in Intel's new documentation which would explain this problem.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:33 pm

I re-downloaded Intel Power Gadget from their site, v3.0.7, just to be sure, but it has the same issues as Core Temp. It shows as 0.60W when "idling" and it maxes out at 0.63W when running an easy stress on 100% load on all cores, didn't test linpack or simillar.

During this time Asus own software shows it as 32.4W when idle (it's overclocked) and around 90W during normal 100% core load, so the Asus app seems to handle it. Wonder what they know that not even Intels developers do? :)

Let me know if you want me to test any other software and see what it reports.

The Asus software is their AI Suite 3, the status bars at the bottom.

Screenshot:
ct-asus-pg.jpg
ct-asus-pg.jpg (230.26 KiB) Viewed 2601 times
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:02 am

Asus might be monitoring power consumption using the onboard monitoring IC rather than the processor's PCU.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby lagadu » Sat Oct 15, 2016 11:01 pm

I get the exact same thing with my 6800k, power always reads between 0.6 and 1 watts.
lagadu
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:59 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:26 am

With version 1.4.1? Could you please post a screenshot?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:24 am

I just downloaded the latest version from the site (1.4.1) and tested, and it still shows exactly the same power usage as the earlier versions. Still reports 0.6-0.7w.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:28 am

Yeah, I understand that. But I'd like to see how Core Temp displays it.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:54 am

Here is the fresh screenshot of CoreTemp. Noticed that the version number says 1.4, but I guess its just not updated, since I downloaded it last night and the installation/readme said 1.4.1
Attachments
6800k CoreTemp-1.4.1-Scr.png
6800k CoreTemp-1.4.1-Scr.png (18.66 KiB) Viewed 2511 times
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby lagadu » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:45 am

Can't take a screenshot because I'm not at home at the moment but my 1.4.1 looks exactly the same.
lagadu
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:59 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:29 am

I have looked into it. It affects some Haswell-EP systems too.
This isn't a Core Temp problem, though, as it happens in all other monitoring programs as well. Even Intel's own power monitor.
The CPU has counters which report measured energy consumed by the processor. When you poll the counters consecutively, you can calculate how much power it has consumed.
I've confirmed that the counters are running way too slowly, and the reported 0.6W is the end result.

The "Uncore" field displaying the same value as "Package" is a bug and will be corrected in the next version. It's actually supposed to read N/A in your specific cases.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby dragonbytes » Tue Nov 15, 2016 2:45 am

I had this exact same problem with the exact same CPU. I ended up warrantying it with Intel and getting a replacement. Power reading works fine now. I'm not sure if the slow counters problem mentioned is a physical defect in the CPU or something else. But swapping the chip out fixed the issue for me.
dragonbytes
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 2:36 am

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:19 am

Hey, thanks for the heads up. It's good to know, not many people have complained about it, but I have seen it a few times here and there. It even affected some Haswell-EP chips too.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:24 am

dragonbytes wrote:I had this exact same problem with the exact same CPU. I ended up warrantying it with Intel and getting a replacement. Power reading works fine now. I'm not sure if the slow counters problem mentioned is a physical defect in the CPU or something else. But swapping the chip out fixed the issue for me.


Interesting. Do you have any more information on this? My CPU seems to work fine overall except for this issue, but if it is a faulty hardware and it's reported somewhere, perhaps I should get mine exchanged as well, but would be nice to have something more as a reference when asking for an RMA, since it might get refused from where I shopped it without more info to give them.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:24 am

Do anyone have a 6800K where the power usage is reported correctly in Core Temp? If so, could they please post a picture of it so I could use it as an argument for an RMA.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:46 pm

Been a while so I thought I'd just check out if there are any news on this issue? I noticed that the latest 1.7 is still now showing the correct wattage, and perhaps it never will, just would like to get some more info is possible, not that it's a very important thing for me to have working, it's just a thing that is nagging me at times. :)
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:44 am

Do other programs work correctly?
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:38 am

The only other thing I have installed is Asus AI Suite 3, and that works, and always has, but as been discussed earlier, they might be using different motherboard sensors, perhaps. I haven't tested any others recently, but I could, if there are something special you want tested.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:47 am

Try HWMonitor from CPUID, or HWiNFo
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:50 am

Ok, will install the latest version of those, later today, and let you know the results.
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby Luterin » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:32 pm

Downloaded latest versions of both and tried out:

HWMonitor produced same results as Core Temp, so they haven't managed to fix it.

HWInfo64 popped up a warning about "Sensor Warning: ASUS EC: Asus All Series" and asked if I wanted to use it or not, and I clicked continue to use it. But in the end this also produced the same numbers as Core Temp, with CPU Package Power around 0.6W at "idle".

Still curious why no one has managed to solve this, or if there is something wrong with certain CPUs and I should even RMA it?
Luterin
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby The Coolest » Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:05 pm

It's a hardware issue in the CPU.
I don't know what causes it exactly, but I'm not aware of a 'software' solution for this.
It doesn't really affect anything performance-wise, so I wouldn't be too worried about it.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Power usage on Intel 6800K incorrect

Postby enigma » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:00 pm

Same Problem here on 5775C.
Attachments
CoreTemp-Dump.txt
(66.96 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (133.09 KiB) Viewed 1222 times
enigma
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:15 pm

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests