Login | Register

X2 BE-2400 temps; this can't be right.

AMD CPU related discussions

Moderators: The Coolest, imposter

  • Author
    Message

X2 BE-2400 temps; this can't be right.

Postby Shadowjack » Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:59 am

I have a X2 BE-2400 CPU with Scythe Mugen (new Ninja version) cooler on Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe mainboard. Plenty cooling and airflow in my Stacker.

Core Temp gives me these readings (idle), core 1; 1 degrees Celsius, core 2; -3 degrees Celsius! At 100% load (Primer) it doesnt go higher than 15 degrees Celsius. I know the BE-2400 is energy efficient (45 watts) and a lot cooler than the normal X2 CPU's, but this doesnt seem right.

Image

Other tools (like Everest in the image) don't even read CPU temperature, or give all different values. Speedfan gave normal readings for all components except CPU, it did have an 'unknown' temp (most likely the 'unknown' CPU) telling me it had reached boiling point!

Also; even though Core Temp might not be accurate for this CPU, there is a difference between the two core temperatures. My old X2 4200+ had the same thing; idle it had like 3 or 4 degrees difference, at 100% load temp differences between cores were as high as 15 degrees... is this a common issue for Athlon X2's???

Of course without reliable temperature monitoring any OC is off limits, so it's running in default Cool 'n' Quiet mode now. Any help, info or suggestions are welcome, thanks in advance!

SJ

Ps; tried newer versions of Core Temp but it crashed my PC :(
My system;
Disordered people don't have a system (but hey, at least I tried to build me one;Look!)
User avatar
Shadowjack
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby The Coolest » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:21 am

Please read this new sticky:
http://www.alcpu.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=1567#1567

The Delta between the two cores is normal and it has been this way since the early dual cores.

You can try HWMonitor from CPUID or just use the ASUS PC Probe II utility.

Which new version of Core Temp did you try which crashed your system? Version 0.95 was flawed and should not be used.
You can get 0.96.1 from the front page:
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby Shadowjack » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:56 am

Thanx!

according to the new sticky it's is a CPU issue.

Quote; 'It is a problem with the DTS in the CPU. Even AMD themselves have acknowledged it:'

and

'There is no way around it', so it's pretty much useless to download or install any other monitoring apps. Grrrrr, my luck again =[

I think it was verson 0.95 that caused problems, but since the problem is in the CPU, getting the latest version wont help me much...

Thanx a bunch for the reply though, at least I know what the 'problem' is..

-=SJ=-
My system;
Disordered people don't have a system (but hey, at least I tried to build me one;Look!)
User avatar
Shadowjack
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby The Coolest » Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:39 am

You can still monitor the TCase temperature, so I suggest you try onr of the apps I suggested.
You should be able to OC, TCase for temperature monitoring should be enough.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby Shadowjack » Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:40 pm

The Coolest wrote:You can still monitor the TCase temperature, so I suggest you try onr of the apps I suggested.
You should be able to OC, TCase for temperature monitoring should be enough.


The latest Core Temp version (0.96.1.0) doesnt give me a TcaseMax.

HWmonitor came up with these puzzling results;

Temperature sensor 0 23°C (73°F) [0x17] (TMPIN0)
Temperature sensor 1 34°C (93°F) [0x22] (TMPIN1)
Temperature sensor 2 -16°C (1°F) [0xEF] (TMPIN2)


AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 0°C (31°F) [0xC3] (core #0)
Temperature sensor 1 -2°C (27°F) [0xBA] (core #1)

[edit]

Asus PC Probe II came up with;

CPU 23 degrees Celsius
MB 34 degrees Celsius.

So for OC the Probe II CPU temp is best reference, should I add a couple of degrees for estimated 'true' core temperatures??

Ps; values are at a 5% OC by Asus Mobo as tryout, but I prefer manual clocking ;o)
My system;
Disordered people don't have a system (but hey, at least I tried to build me one;Look!)
User avatar
Shadowjack
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Netherlands

Return to AMD CPUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest