Login | Register

GPU Temperature plug in

Updates on developement of new features and user input/requests

Moderator: imposter

  • Author
    Message

GPU Temperature plug in

Postby The Coolest » Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:44 pm

When I get some free time I'm going to write a GPU temperature report plugin.
I haven't decided whether it's going to be an actual plugin or something I'm going to integrate into Core Temp (but will come as a separate DLL file).

Here's the preliminary test:
Image
This only works on nVidia GPUs so far. I use nVidia's NVAPI library they provide on their developers' page.
I'll have to dig around and see if ATi offers something similar. As far as I know they don't, so if anybody has any information to share about it, please do.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby imposter » Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:27 am

Seems like a great idea.

what GPU's will this support?
User avatar
imposter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:07 pm
Location: NYC

Postby The Coolest » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:29 am

Anything nVidia at the moment
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby hathor » Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:33 pm

The GPU-(Standalone-)Exe-File can write the 3 Bytes (GPU,SlowDown,Env) in the SHARED MEMORY of CORETEMP.
No dll, no plugin, please!
Greetings from BERLIN, GERMANY!
tiu-hathor
hathor
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:02 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Postby The Coolest » Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:55 pm

The screenshot in the first post was just a proof of concept app to see if this was actually working.
I still haven't really thought about how it's going to be implemented, at all.
So I'll think about it in due time. I may do it the way you suggest, but the problem is that there may be up to 3 sensors per GPU, and there may be upto 8 or more GPUs in the system. So if/when I add this to shared memory, I'll have to think of something on how to allow access to this information to other programs.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby The Coolest » Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:07 am

I've uploaded this program, and am asking for some beta testers.
I'm pretty sure that the code works but I still want to make sure everything's correct.

Could you please run it and post a screenshot with the results?
This currently works on nVidia cards only.

Download:
32 bit
64 bit
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User031 » Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:50 am

Everything looks fine here.:)

Image
CoreTemp-User031
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby mbentley » Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:15 pm

deleted screen shot :D
Last edited by mbentley on Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
if you drive a steam engine up a telephone pole and the wheels fall off, how many donuts can you dig out of the bottom of a doghouse in a minute?
mbentley
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 11:55 am
Location: a really nice cornfield in indiana

Postby Rhialto » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:48 am

Image
Rhialto
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:13 pm

Postby The Coolest » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:44 am

Thanks guys.
Looks like it works.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User151 » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:45 pm

Once it's able to read ATI's card, I'll be more then happy to test it. :)
CoreTemp-User151
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby imposter » Fri Feb 20, 2009 9:34 pm

Exactly!
User avatar
imposter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:07 pm
Location: NYC

Postby The Coolest » Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:55 am

Sorry guys but that might take a while.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User151 » Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:24 am

It's OK, I don't mind the wait.

Hopefully when you do program it in, you find someway for it to sit in the system tray. :)
CoreTemp-User151
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby CoreTemp-User151 » Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:08 am

Any news?
CoreTemp-User151
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:04 am

Been a bit busy lately.
Not much progress on this front yet.
I need to figure out where to put GPU temp readings in the GUI, I may need to create another window to display the temps
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User151 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:34 am

Sounds like plan.

If you need ATI drivers so you can see what makes them tick and how it displays the GPU Speed/GPU temps in ATI CCC (Catalyst Control Center), I would be more then happy to upload them for you so you can get the ATI aspect of it running.
CoreTemp-User151
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Question

Postby CoreTemp-User168 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:45 am

Hello "The Coolest",

I am just curious as to what language you use for programming your applications, and if you could give me a lead of direction in reading hardware temperatures etc. I have messed around allot with the windows WMI class and the temperature reading in it seem to fail badly.

Thanks for your time
CoreTemp-User168
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:23 pm

Core Temp is written in C++. To gain direct access to hardware I'm using a kernel mode driver (ring0), since reading the MSRs or accessing the PCI bus requires access to ring0.
I've not messed with WMI as I had no need for it, so I can't really suggest anything to you in that department.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Question

Postby CoreTemp-User168 » Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:09 pm

Would you have any knowledge or idea of reading ATI Graphics Card temperatures, Maybe there is a class file which can be used which is part of the catolist control center as it reads gpu temperature.
CoreTemp-User168
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:24 pm

ATi has an API to read the temps but it's buggy and unreliable. The only reliable way of reading the temps would be doing it through the I2C bus, and that's a pain. It requires a lot of work, needs driver support (driver will have to be updated).
I don't yet know how to work with the I2C bus directly, so until I figure it out, this will be limited to nVidia only, unfortunately.

I'd be very happy if ATi implemented a similar API to nVidia's in this regard, nVidia makes it very simply and straight forward.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User168 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:57 am

Yea true, i was using an Nvida card but upgraded to a ATI recently, ive still got some Nvidia software installed which won't allow me to uninstall without putting my old gfx in so dud.
CoreTemp-User168
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:10 am

You could try doing it from Safe Mode unless you tried it already. (but please let's keep tech support out of this thread)
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby The Coolest » Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:56 am

An update on the process:

Here's a screenshot of the plugin:
Image

What do you guys think?
The plug-in docks itself below Core Temp and it changes position together with the Core Temp window itself, so whether you move it, minimize it, go to mini-mode, etc, the Plugin window will be "dragged" together with the main window.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby Rhialto » Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:40 pm

What about making the main window smaller?

CPUID, APICID and Revision can all fit on a sigle line.

Then I would add a single GPU window, Vendor, Model and Memory on a single line. Every next lines show temp just like for CPU with Low, High. Don't know if you can read load with you plugin.

Not sure number of sensors is needed since you will display temp for every sensors so if 2 temps, 2 sensors.

My 2 cents.

Looks promising!
Rhialto
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:13 pm

Next

Return to Core Temp - Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest