Login | Register

XP: Driver has failed to load.

Report any bugs you have with the program, so they can be fixed.

Moderator: imposter

  • Author
    Message

XP: Driver has failed to load.

Postby CoreTemp-User232 » Sun May 03, 2009 3:58 pm

Hi,

I'm using core temp 0.99.4.65 on a Win XP/SP3 and I like it.

Hovever, when loading the 1st time after PC reboot as unprivileged user,
I get the error:

'Driver has failed to load.
This programm will not continue.'

Logging off and login as privileged user, coretemp starts w/o probs.

Logging in again as nonprivileged user, coretemp starts now w/o problem.

I tried
sc stop ALSysIO
which I found in another 'Win XP Driver load error' post, but it did not help.

Any hints?
CoreTemp-User232
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Sun May 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Core Temp starts it's driver only when you launch it. This means that you can only start it while being a privileged user.
When the driver is already loaded, and you try to start it from the non-privileged user, it works since it simply uses the existing driver instance in memory, and doesn't try to reload it again.

This is a OS limitation.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User232 » Fri May 15, 2009 2:58 pm

Is there a way to start the driver maually as a windows service?
CoreTemp-User232
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Fri May 15, 2009 8:55 pm

No, there currently isn't.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Core Temp - Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest