Login | Register

Opteron 252s & TDP

Report any bugs you have with the program, so they can be fixed.

Moderator: imposter

  • Author
    Message

Opteron 252s & TDP

Postby shoarthing » Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:32 pm

Hi - have run a pair of these through your excellent utility - the TPD is greyed out for both CPUs [it gives a figure - 63W - in both cases but the script: 'TDP' is greyed out].

Can I rely upon this identical 63W figure? These 252s are from very different sources, different batches & so on, & show as having different TCaseMax figures of 59 & 67 C.
shoarthing
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:27 pm

Postby The Coolest » Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:38 pm

That is odd. Can you please post a few screenshots of how it looks like?
you can upload the screenshots to www.imageshack.us.
And one more thing, please download GCPUID (by clicking the button in the program), run it, press F7 and it should ask you where you want to save a text dump file. Can you also send it to me via PM please? (just use the [ code] brackets and paste the contents of the file into them).
Thanks for the bug report.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby shoarthing » Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:47 am

Hi - thanks for the prompt response:

Opteron 252 #1 Image
Opteron 252 #2 Image

- GCPUID dump sent via PM

. . would be interested in your opinion as to any functional differences between these parts [especially as affecting transition to & from low-power states]: the first is an OSA252FAA5BL, t'other an OSP252FAA5BL [HP OEM]: the runs of dopant stew being CABNE & CABXE respectively.
shoarthing
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:27 pm

Postby shoarthing » Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:18 pm

Hi - thanks for the PM & revision: are you really, really sure about the changes in v119? . . I now see 92.6W for anOSPxxxxxxxx part ... ie (more-or-less) the gross TDP envelope first announced for the 0.09nm process E4s.

Image
shoarthing
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:27 pm

Postby The Coolest » Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:28 am

Yeah. The problem was that this OEM chip has a BrandID value I didn't take into account. So now its fixed.
By the way, this weekend hopefully I'll finally be able to set up a web page where users can upload the info about their chips.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest