Login | Register

vista x64 support?

Report any bugs you have with the program, so they can be fixed.

Moderator: imposter

  • Author
    Message

vista x64 support?

Postby lsmithmier » Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:54 am

silly question, i am sure, but when i run "GCPUID - 2.0.0024v (Prerelease Version" in regular mode or as administrator in vista rc1 x64 i get the following error:

The driver has failed to load!
Some information will not be available.

just an fyi really.

Asus P5B Deluxe/WiFi, E6600, Crucial Ballistix 2GB
output:
GCPUID - 2.0.0024v (Prerelease Version)
-----------------------------------------------------------------

CPUID Information
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Number of CPUs: 2

CPU #1:

CPU Vendor: GenuineIntel
CPU Name: Intel Conroe CPU
Platform: Unknown
CPU Name String: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
CPU Instruction set: MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
CPU Signature: 0x6F6
CPU Extended Family/Model: 0x0/0
Lithography size: 65nm

CPU Speed: 2400.00 MHz

L1 Data cache size: 32KBytes
L1 Instruction cache size: 32KBytes

APIC ID: 0

eax ebx ecx edx
Function 0x00000000: 0x0000000A 0x756E6547 0x6C65746E 0x49656E69
Function 0x00000001: 0x000006F6 0x00020800 0x0000E3BD 0xBFEBFBFF
Function 0x00000002: 0x05B0B101 0x005657F0 0x00000000 0x2CB43049
Function 0x00000003: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000004: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000005: 0x00000040 0x00000040 0x00000003 0x00000020
Function 0x00000006: 0x00000001 0x00000002 0x00000001 0x00000000
Function 0x00000007: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000008: 0x00000400 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000009: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x0000000A: 0x07280202 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000000: 0x80000008 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000001: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x20100000
Function 0x80000002: 0x65746E49 0x2952286C 0x726F4320 0x4D542865
Function 0x80000003: 0x43203229 0x20205550 0x20202020 0x20202020
Function 0x80000004: 0x30303636 0x20402020 0x30342E32 0x007A4847
Function 0x80000005: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000006: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x10008040 0x00000000
Function 0x80000007: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000008: 0x00003024 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000

-----------------------------------------------------------------

CPU #2:

CPU Vendor: GenuineIntel
CPU Name: Intel Conroe CPU
Platform: Unknown
CPU Name String: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
CPU Instruction set: MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
CPU Signature: 0x6F6
CPU Extended Family/Model: 0x0/0
Lithography size: 65nm

CPU Speed: 2400.00 MHz

L1 Data cache size: 32KBytes
L1 Instruction cache size: 32KBytes

APIC ID: 1

eax ebx ecx edx
Function 0x00000000: 0x0000000A 0x756E6547 0x6C65746E 0x49656E69
Function 0x00000001: 0x000006F6 0x01020800 0x0000E3BD 0xBFEBFBFF
Function 0x00000002: 0x05B0B101 0x005657F0 0x00000000 0x2CB43049
Function 0x00000003: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000004: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000005: 0x00000040 0x00000040 0x00000003 0x00000020
Function 0x00000006: 0x00000001 0x00000002 0x00000001 0x00000000
Function 0x00000007: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000008: 0x00000400 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x00000009: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x0000000A: 0x07280202 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000000: 0x80000008 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000001: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x20100000
Function 0x80000002: 0x65746E49 0x2952286C 0x726F4320 0x4D542865
Function 0x80000003: 0x43203229 0x20205550 0x20202020 0x20202020
Function 0x80000004: 0x30303636 0x20402020 0x30342E32 0x007A4847
Function 0x80000005: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000006: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x10008040 0x00000000
Function 0x80000007: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
Function 0x80000008: 0x00003024 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000

-----------------------------------------------------------------
lsmithmier
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:49 am

Postby The Coolest » Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:21 am

From what I understand Vista now REQUIRES drivers to be signed or else it won't allow a program to load them, GCPUIDs/CoreTemps driver is not signed as both are free programs and driver signing costs silly money of like $500/year
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby boardsportsrule » Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:48 pm

so until a way around the required driver thing is found, there will be no vista support?
boardsportsrule
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:46 pm

Postby The Coolest » Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:13 am

Unfortunatly no.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby boardsportsrule » Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:32 am

ok, i actually looked into it, and if when you boot into vista you press "F8" and start vista with "disable digital signing enforcement" (or soemthing like that..) it works. there is a program that forces vista to always boot this way, so its all good...glad i found a way to get it working, i love coretemp... it's simple and informative, just what i need :) thanks for the sweet programs, and i hope there is a way to work around vista..thanks :)
boardsportsrule
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:46 pm

Postby The Coolest » Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:35 am

Hey, that is great. Could you please tell me what program that is? I might post it on other forums where people ran into problems running Core Temp on Vista!
Thanks a lot for the info :)
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby boardsportsrule » Mon Oct 23, 2006 1:09 am

the program can be found here
http://www.vistabootpro.org/
i just installed the program
i got an error stating that i didnt have a "standard" version of vista,(although i do) but it let me into the program..it was very easy, and is very versitile...i am goign to reboot with this program disabiling this driver issue and will let you know if it truly works.
boardsportsrule
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:46 pm

Postby boardsportsrule » Mon Oct 23, 2006 1:17 am

So far i cannot get it to work, i am workign with it and i will let you know if i can make it force this boot method every time...in the mean time, the F8 method works well :)
boardsportsrule
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:46 pm

Postby boardsportsrule » Mon Oct 23, 2006 1:27 am

well couldnt get it to work, so i went to their site, and it appears that for some reason they havent worked out a way to force it every boot in RC2...i am hoping an update will fix it, but if not the F8 method SHOULD continue to work, and SHOULD be included in the final version of vista(at which point i am sure SOME ONE will have a permanent fix)...in the mean time, i will keep pressing F8...sorry to get your hopes up :?
boardsportsrule
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:46 pm

Postby ochungry » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:35 am

In winxp right click my computer, system property window opens. Click on Hardware tab and you see driver signing settings.
Choose the option: ignore (the driver signature) and install.
I dont have win vista installed (actually went back to win xp after so much conflicts w/ vista) and I dont know if this option is also available in win vista.
ochungry
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:26 am

Postby The Coolest » Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:16 am

As far as I know,in Vista x64 you can not use unsigned drivers, they just won't work unless you boot in that spcial mode described by boardsportsrule.

As I've already said in this thread, signing a driver is like $500 per YEAR, which in my opinion is silly.
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby Tute » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:21 pm

Er.. without telling you what to do, as I really don't know anything about programming...

but why not use the inbuilt API? Apparantly you can also write something called a "User-Mode" driver which will work without signing.

I'm also told you don't need to write a kernel mode driver to get the CPU temperture.

Hope this helps. :)

[Edit] Information taken from this thread:

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showth ... ost8769743
Tute
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:26 pm

Postby CoreTemp-User237 » Sat May 09, 2009 8:09 am

so until a way around the required driver thing is found, there will be no vista support?
CoreTemp-User237
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby The Coolest » Sat May 09, 2009 9:01 am

GCPUID is discontinued
Member of our O/C Folding @ Home team
"<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors
User avatar
The Coolest
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Postby CoreTemp-User288 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:51 pm

So far i cannot get it to work, i am workign with it and i will let you know if i can make it force this boot method every time.
CoreTemp-User288
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Postby imposter » Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:29 am

is there any reason why you would want to use this program?
User avatar
imposter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:07 pm
Location: NYC

Return to GCPUID - Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest